I know about the maintenance section but seems stupid to rebuild all thumbnails when you want to update just one.
But anyway, you are right. I just made a couple of force reloads on my browser and the thumbnail is in fact updated.
Is there a "nocache" option I can send users to after they alter an image? Maybe that and also a nocache thumbnail view can stop users from applying changes several times before they see an updated version.