PhotoPost Photo Gallery Sales PhotoPost Sales Toll Free Phone Number
Mon-Fri 9am-4pm EST
  PhotoPost Photo Sharing Photo Gallery    Visualize community tm
| | | | | | | | |

Go Back   PhotoPost Community > General Forums > Before You Buy

Before You Buy Have questions about PhotoPost, ReviewPost and/or PhotoPost Classifieds before you buy?

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 6 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old April 8th, 2010, 07:01 AM   #1
carlosfandango
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Wales
Posts: 4
Send a message via Skype™ to carlosfandango
Help with ImageMagick Installation

Hi all,

I hope someone can help, in preparation for buying PP Classifieds I thought I'd set up my current VB4 forum to use ImageMagick instead of GD, which it has been using well for the last year.

I asked my hoster to install IM 6, which they have duly done, however, when I try to upload an image attachemnt to a post it fails... the progress bar moves as you'd expect, gets to 100% and the the error message is displayed:

There was an error encountered with your upload:

Imageinfo Failed:
PHP Error: Unspecified error in exec().

Obviously not directly related PP Classifieds but until I can resolve the ImageMagic thing to work with VB4 I can't be sure PP Classifieds is going to be able to use IM as well.

I am running on a Windows Server so Unix solutions are not gonna work for me and yes I could continue using GD but why settle for GD when you can have ImageMagic

Hope someone can help
carlosfandango is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 8th, 2010, 07:46 AM   #2
Chuck S
Photopost Developer
Verified Customer
 
Chuck S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Abingdon,MD
Posts: 75,143
Well you would need to pass that error to your host. There is very little anyone could assist with on a windows server as you need backend access which of course only your host has. That looks like an issue with the php exec function. I do not find anything on the internet about that specific error.

1. They would install Imagemagick in a short directory like so

c:/imagemagick

2. Make sure your data and uploads directory as well as cmd.exe has READ WRITE EXECUTE permissions.

3. You can then try uploading. If you get permissions errors one last thing to try

4. You edit image-inc.php and change this line to NT

Code:
Content visible to verified customers only.
If all that fails then you might need to use GD2 because sometimes getting Imagemagick to work can be difficult. It is all permissions related.
__________________
Photopost Developer and Support Engineer

Please do not PM me for support or sales questions. Thank you for your understanding.
Chuck S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 8th, 2010, 07:54 AM   #3
carlosfandango
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Wales
Posts: 4
Send a message via Skype™ to carlosfandango
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chuck S View Post
Well you would need to pass that error to your host.
If all that fails then you might need to use GD2 because sometimes getting Imagemagick to work can be difficult. It is all permissions related.
Thanks Chuck,
I've forwarded your thoughts on to my hosts..... if there's no success then I gotta bite the bullet, reach for the moon and not the stars and go back to GD.

Many thanks for your quick reply

Regards

Carl
carlosfandango is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 8th, 2010, 09:35 AM   #4
Chuck S
Photopost Developer
Verified Customer
 
Chuck S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Abingdon,MD
Posts: 75,143
No problem let me know how it goes.
__________________
Photopost Developer and Support Engineer

Please do not PM me for support or sales questions. Thank you for your understanding.
Chuck S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 12th, 2010, 03:07 PM   #5
carlosfandango
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Wales
Posts: 4
Send a message via Skype™ to carlosfandango
Hi Chuck,

Thanks for your suggestions, which I passed to my host but alas they were not able to resolve the problem, even after running some suggested tests from the IM site. So, I have reverted back to GD and will have to use it until I pluck up more courage and time to try again.

So is there anything I need to be aware of before installing PPClassifieds under vB4 on a Windows server..... please be really basic with me as my brain is very small and overflows when complicated info is stuffed into it lol.

Will look to purchase tomorrow or Weds so a speedy response would be greatly appreciated.

Can you take a look at my Forum www.wewererhodesians.com/forum and I'd like to put a 'menu' button called 'Classfieds' in the vb navbar between 'Blogs' and 'Whats New'... I take it that'll be an easy one

TTFN

Carl
carlosfandango is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 12th, 2010, 05:39 PM   #6
Chuck S
Photopost Developer
Verified Customer
 
Chuck S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Abingdon,MD
Posts: 75,143
The install for classifieds should be roughly the same as you did for your gallery so no surprises I would think

Did you say a classifieds navbar link for vb4

http://www.photopost.com/forum/1262281-post2.html
__________________
Photopost Developer and Support Engineer

Please do not PM me for support or sales questions. Thank you for your understanding.
Chuck S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 13th, 2010, 02:04 AM   #7
carlosfandango
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Wales
Posts: 4
Send a message via Skype™ to carlosfandango
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chuck S View Post
The install for classifieds should be roughly the same as you did for your gallery so no surprises I would think
Hi Chuck, I don't have any of your products yet so I can't refer to previous experiences with the gallery you mention

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chuck S View Post
Did you say a classifieds navbar link for vb4

http://www.photopost.com/forum/1262281-post2.html
Yep, when I install PP CLassifieds I want to be able to put a button, say called 'Classifieds' on the vb4 navbar, I tried that link you sent but it doesn't tell me much as I'm not a customer yet.

Regards

Carl
carlosfandango is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 13th, 2010, 08:08 AM   #8
Chuck S
Photopost Developer
Verified Customer
 
Chuck S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Abingdon,MD
Posts: 75,143
PhotoPost PHP Photo Sharing Photo Gallery Installation Guide

well there are instructions for installation

as far as that link thats exactly what you want and you can grab that after you purchase.
__________________
Photopost Developer and Support Engineer

Please do not PM me for support or sales questions. Thank you for your understanding.
Chuck S is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ImageMagick vs GD 2.0x TimS General Discussion 3 February 27th, 2006 03:52 PM
ImageMagick installation for Windows spanky Before You Buy 3 August 30th, 2004 11:41 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:01 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.