PhotoPost Photo Gallery Sales PhotoPost Sales Toll Free Phone Number
Mon-Fri 9am-4pm EST
  PhotoPost Photo Sharing Photo Gallery    Visualize community tm
| | | | | | | | |

Go Back   PhotoPost Community > General Forums > General Discussion

General Discussion General use discussion forum for PhotoPost products.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 29 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old March 4th, 2010, 05:41 PM   #1
Hippy
Member
Verified Customer
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 227
Question photo cache

Chuck I'm still having the same problem after we talked yesterday about the turning off the photo cache.

I installed a test gallery to see if the same issue happens .. Not to my surprise all worked as it was suppose to.
short of starting all over is there something else I could check or try to resolve this problem?
Regards
Ron
Hippy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 4th, 2010, 06:42 PM   #2
Chuck S
Photopost Developer
Verified Customer
 
Chuck S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Abingdon,MD
Posts: 75,134
well if you recently upgraded did you run all applicable upgrades. You might need to actually post a url and test login here for us to look at so I can comment further.
__________________
Photopost Developer and Support Engineer

Please do not PM me for support or sales questions. Thank you for your understanding.
Chuck S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 5th, 2010, 03:18 PM   #3
Hippy
Member
Verified Customer
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 227
in the admincp under Global Options
Enable IP Cache Timeout
"This variable is used to track IP addresses and userids for voting and viewing purposes. This is set in HOURS. 0 disables this setting"
it was set to 1
I changed it to 0 and the post cache started working
I'm not sure If I need it set to 1?
I'm also unsure of what it does exactly , Can you explain it a little better to me
thanks
Hippy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 5th, 2010, 07:49 PM   #4
Chuck S
Photopost Developer
Verified Customer
 
Chuck S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Abingdon,MD
Posts: 75,134
The ipcache timeout simply sets the viewing cache
__________________
Photopost Developer and Support Engineer

Please do not PM me for support or sales questions. Thank you for your understanding.
Chuck S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 31st, 2010, 07:21 AM   #5
Infopro
Junior Member
Verified Customer
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 29
Hippy is correct in disabling the cache settings (there are a few) in order for the view count of a photo to work properly. AFAIK, these settings never, ever worked correctly.

No need to test this and find the problem to fix though, Chuck. Just another of the many settings I think most disable and forget about using as they just simply do not work.
Infopro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 31st, 2010, 07:30 AM   #6
Chuck S
Photopost Developer
Verified Customer
 
Chuck S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Abingdon,MD
Posts: 75,134
IP Cache has nothing to do with the category cache which is another feature. Both work as they are coded to work. For instance the category cache is updated on photo count when a user uploads a photo.
__________________
Photopost Developer and Support Engineer

Please do not PM me for support or sales questions. Thank you for your understanding.
Chuck S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 3rd, 2010, 01:09 PM   #7
jstarkweather
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 36
1M records

I just noted that my ipcache table has over 1 million records. Is there no purge of older records?

I really wish the new development of PhotoPost would concentrate on performance gains (over features, etc) as with 250,000+ photos I can testify that this app is causing major issues for my quad-core dedicated server. My gut feeling is that it's still an issue of file storage and a very bloated user file directory (data/500).

Jim
jstarkweather is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 3rd, 2010, 08:41 PM   #8
Chuck S
Photopost Developer
Verified Customer
 
Chuck S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Abingdon,MD
Posts: 75,134
You can increase performance by turning off features there has been alot of work in performance areas over the last couple years.

If your uploading the bulk of those images into one directory yes that can lock up a site trying to grab files.

Furthermore we clear the ipcache based on a timeout figured from your ipcache setting. Have you tried setting that to a cutoff number?
__________________
Photopost Developer and Support Engineer

Please do not PM me for support or sales questions. Thank you for your understanding.
Chuck S is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Use category cache? mjm General Discussion 17 August 26th, 2009 03:44 PM
Does 5.2 cache update members last photo upload? mjm General Discussion 2 October 9th, 2005 06:35 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:19 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.