PhotoPost Photo Sharing Photo Gallery    Visualize community tm
| | | |

Go Back   PhotoPost Community > General Forums > Before You Buy

Before You Buy Have questions about PhotoPost, ReviewPost and/or PhotoPost Classifieds before you buy?

 
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 6 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old August 3rd, 2009, 07:13 PM   #1
dan@
Member
Verified Customer
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 31
Classifieds as Standalone

If i read the features right Photopost Classifieds can run as a standalone application. Are there any sites i can visit as an example of a standalone Classifieds? Seems like most are run with a forum. So i'm curious as how it is as a standalone. I had planned on running it with VBulletin, but if i don't have to I may not. What is gained using it with a forum, or what is given up using it as a Standalone application?

Thanks
Dan
dan@ is offline  
Old August 3rd, 2009, 09:20 PM   #2
Chuck S
Photopost Developer
Verified Customer
 
Chuck S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Abingdon,MD
Posts: 75,926
There are examples here

PhotoPost Sites In Action

You lose nothing running it as a standalone

The integrations basically integrate the user logins from the forum so you have a seamless login throughout the site.
__________________
Photopost Developer and Support Engineer

Please do not PM me for support or sales questions. Thank you for your understanding.
Chuck S is offline  
Old August 3rd, 2009, 10:11 PM   #3
dan@
Member
Verified Customer
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 31
If i use with VB do i end up running 2 Databases or does the Classified integrate with VB's?

If I decided to use with VB. Do i need to get VB up and running first or can it be added to after i have the Classifieds up and running?

Thanks for your help

dan
dan@ is offline  
Old August 4th, 2009, 07:56 AM   #4
Chuck S
Photopost Developer
Verified Customer
 
Chuck S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Abingdon,MD
Posts: 75,926
You can put all tables into one database or two thats up to you.

vBulletin would need to be installed first if you wish to integrate with that. We do forum installs for $70.00 which is half of vbulletin charges if you are going to have them install there software.
__________________
Photopost Developer and Support Engineer

Please do not PM me for support or sales questions. Thank you for your understanding.
Chuck S is offline  
Old August 4th, 2009, 07:17 PM   #5
dan@
Member
Verified Customer
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 31
Is there an advantage or disadvantage to running as a single database or 2 databases? Is there going to be a speed difference?
dan@ is offline  
Old August 4th, 2009, 07:27 PM   #6
Chuck S
Photopost Developer
Verified Customer
 
Chuck S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Abingdon,MD
Posts: 75,926
Running a separate database makes sense for bigger databases. Running the same database is good for smaller databases and sites so the speed difference depends on the size of the databases as to the time factors to access the data.

I use separate databases myself to keep size down.
__________________
Photopost Developer and Support Engineer

Please do not PM me for support or sales questions. Thank you for your understanding.
Chuck S is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:41 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.