PhotoPost Photo Gallery Sales PhotoPost Sales Toll Free Phone Number
Mon-Fri 9am-4pm EST
  PhotoPost Photo Sharing Photo Gallery    Visualize community tm
| | | | | | | | |

Go Back   PhotoPost Community > General Forums > General Discussion

General Discussion General use discussion forum for PhotoPost products.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old March 18th, 2008, 09:09 AM   #1
skidpics
Ultimate Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,340
uploading large photos

I uploaded some larger photos to a directory on my yahoo server, 400kb to about 900KB, but when adding them via bulk upload is get a 500 error every time. I deleted most of the images from 1000kb and up and the rest are smaller, thus they were added fine.

I use GD2 for image manipulation.. What could be causing the file size issue, and what can I do about it to fix the time out issue? yahoo is never much help..
skidpics is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 18th, 2008, 09:34 AM   #2
Chuck S
Photopost Developer
Verified Customer
 
Chuck S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Abingdon,MD
Posts: 75,136
Yahoo on average is a pretty restrictive server limited everything and lock down alot of things.

Pretty common upload issue processing large files and gd its a memory issue with php it is shutting down on the server

http://www.photopost.com/forum/showp...46&postcount=2
__________________
Photopost Developer and Support Engineer

Please do not PM me for support or sales questions. Thank you for your understanding.
Chuck S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 18th, 2008, 10:10 AM   #3
skidpics
Ultimate Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,340
can it be tweaked? Will ImageMagick work better? I think I can install it...
skidpics is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 18th, 2008, 10:19 AM   #4
Chuck S
Photopost Developer
Verified Customer
 
Chuck S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Abingdon,MD
Posts: 75,136
You can not install anything on a yahoo server. You are stuck using GD2 to my knowledge
__________________
Photopost Developer and Support Engineer

Please do not PM me for support or sales questions. Thank you for your understanding.
Chuck S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 18th, 2008, 10:24 AM   #5
skidpics
Ultimate Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,340
crap! Guess I need to look into switching then.. thanks..
skidpics is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 18th, 2008, 10:59 AM   #6
Chuck S
Photopost Developer
Verified Customer
 
Chuck S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Abingdon,MD
Posts: 75,136
Yeah yahoo does not allow alot of stuff.
__________________
Photopost Developer and Support Engineer

Please do not PM me for support or sales questions. Thank you for your understanding.
Chuck S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 18th, 2008, 10:15 PM   #7
skidpics
Ultimate Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,340
I am getting this error in my logs right now:

[19-Mar-2008 03:10:32] PHP Fatal error: Allowed memory size of 20971520 bytes exhausted (tried to allocate 10240 bytes) in /image-inc.php on line 116

What am I to do with this?
skidpics is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 19th, 2008, 08:23 AM   #8
skidpics
Ultimate Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,340
I just talked to Yahoo. There are limited to 8mb in the phi.ini file. For security reasons, in shared hosting, one cannot edit this file, but there are forwarding this to development. They hope to be able to open it soon in the future..

althought, I am not able to upload anything, get a blank screen once uploaded. I reverted back to original file, but no difference...
http://skidpics.com/uploadphoto.php

Last edited by skidpics; March 19th, 2008 at 08:43 AM.
skidpics is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 19th, 2008, 09:13 AM   #9
Chuck S
Photopost Developer
Verified Customer
 
Chuck S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Abingdon,MD
Posts: 75,136
I show you raised it to 20M. You can try raising the php memory through this edit

http://www.photopost.com/forum/showp...46&postcount=2

If you can not edit anything or things do not process after you have raised memory above what it is now you would need to limit the sizes of files you upload and the number of them. You can delete all directories under uploads to clear your uploads folder.
__________________
Photopost Developer and Support Engineer

Please do not PM me for support or sales questions. Thank you for your understanding.
Chuck S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 19th, 2008, 09:27 AM   #10
skidpics
Ultimate Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,340
well, either deleting the upload directory or applying the tweak, it is working right now. thanks!

What exactly is the index file in the upload directory?
skidpics is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 19th, 2008, 09:31 AM   #11
Chuck S
Photopost Developer
Verified Customer
 
Chuck S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Abingdon,MD
Posts: 75,136
to keep people from viewing the files in the uploads directory
__________________
Photopost Developer and Support Engineer

Please do not PM me for support or sales questions. Thank you for your understanding.
Chuck S is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problems uploading large files TimS General Discussion 1 February 28th, 2006 05:19 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:08 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.