PhotoPost Photo Gallery Sales PhotoPost Sales Toll Free Phone Number
Mon-Fri 9am-4pm EST
  PhotoPost Photo Sharing Photo Gallery    Visualize community tm
| | | | | | | | |

Go Back   PhotoPost Community > PhotoPost Support > PhotoPost Pro Support Forums > Photopost Pro Import Scripts

Photopost Pro Import Scripts Looking to upgrade to PhotoPost? We'll post any importers we develop here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 3 votes, 2.33 average. Display Modes
Old November 14th, 2009, 11:59 AM   #101
cory_booth
Member
Verified Customer
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 117
Success!

BTW. I had to add (my prefix) and ppgal_ to get it to work.
In other words, it asked for my prefix (which is aquia_) but I had to make it:
aquia_ppgal_

5827 photos.
cory_booth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 14th, 2009, 12:01 PM   #102
Chuck S
Photopost Developer
Verified Customer
 
Chuck S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Abingdon,MD
Posts: 75,134
yes because your prefix is aquia_ppgal_ not ppgal_. It would only be ppgal_ if your forum had no prefix.
__________________
Photopost Developer and Support Engineer

Please do not PM me for support or sales questions. Thank you for your understanding.
Chuck S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 14th, 2009, 12:22 PM   #103
cory_booth
Member
Verified Customer
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 117
Interesting Ghost Cats

Hey Chuck...

I have moved all my data - followed your instructions on front page and turned off category caching.

Interesting enough - I can't see the categories in admin however.

I do have my three main categories (2007, 2008, 2009) but no sub-categories under each one. All the pictures seem to be present however.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg err1.JPG (18.9 KB, 8 views)
File Type: jpg err2.jpg (58.0 KB, 6 views)
cory_booth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 14th, 2009, 01:48 PM   #104
Chuck S
Photopost Developer
Verified Customer
 
Chuck S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Abingdon,MD
Posts: 75,134
Hit save and see what appears there is clean up work to do.
__________________
Photopost Developer and Support Engineer

Please do not PM me for support or sales questions. Thank you for your understanding.
Chuck S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 15th, 2009, 09:53 AM   #105
cory_booth
Member
Verified Customer
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 117
I think I see what happend.
My categories were not made as "Categories" but as private albums. I think this is because all my "Site" galleries had my username assigned to them (rather than leaving it blank).
Created my categories and now bulk moving my pictures. It'll get sorted out in a bit. Still nice having all the pictures in the db already.
cory_booth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 15th, 2009, 10:10 AM   #106
Chuck S
Photopost Developer
Verified Customer
 
Chuck S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Abingdon,MD
Posts: 75,134
private albums are going to show just for you As well they are also going to show on the photopost personal albums link if they are public etc or members gallery. In Pro albums do not appear as categories in the cats list.
__________________
Photopost Developer and Support Engineer

Please do not PM me for support or sales questions. Thank you for your understanding.
Chuck S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 15th, 2009, 11:11 AM   #107
cory_booth
Member
Verified Customer
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 117
Chuck,

Thanks very much for your help. Best support for a VB script on the net right here.

I understand what you are saying, but what I meant is:
I did not "intend" to use private/personal ablums in my vbGallery.
My gallery was structured as:
2009 pictures
-> Halloween Party
-> Trip to Beach

etc...
It seemed to work well, but I did recall having the ability to assign a username to new galleries or leaving it blank.

I think by assigning my username to the gallery, when the importer ran - it thought they were all private/personal albums because when I ran the importer, none of those categories (2009, Halloween) were created and all the pictures were listed as personal albums (rather than site categories).

Easy fix, I remade all the categories and am now doing bulk moves from personal albums into the site categories. Just thought I'd let you know of my experiences with the importer.

Still a whole lot easier and well worth the time to get things sorted out. Great product.
cory_booth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 15th, 2009, 11:16 AM   #108
Chuck S
Photopost Developer
Verified Customer
 
Chuck S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Abingdon,MD
Posts: 75,134
yeah I hear ya that you did not intend to do so but remember vbgallery and photopost have one thing in common. Categories created in the backend are categories. Categories users create on the front end are personal albums. vbgallery and photopost may display them a little different but the core aspect is the same
__________________
Photopost Developer and Support Engineer

Please do not PM me for support or sales questions. Thank you for your understanding.
Chuck S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 15th, 2009, 11:31 AM   #109
cory_booth
Member
Verified Customer
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 117
One other minor question...

I got a call from a member, my activities of moving pictures is sending out emails (upto 113 right now).

Any easy way to shutdown email notices until I get done?
cory_booth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 15th, 2009, 11:37 AM   #110
cory_booth
Member
Verified Customer
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 117
I commented out function admin_email and mail in the adm-misc.php file. I think that should do it.
cory_booth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 15th, 2009, 12:22 PM   #111
Chuck S
Photopost Developer
Verified Customer
 
Chuck S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Abingdon,MD
Posts: 75,134
Turn off notifications in admin options
__________________
Photopost Developer and Support Engineer

Please do not PM me for support or sales questions. Thank you for your understanding.
Chuck S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 2nd, 2010, 02:43 PM   #112
Dark Lord
Member
Verified Customer
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 30
I've installed photopost and manage to import all the old data, it shows comments, views etc and temp thumbs, when I do the database rebuild images I get loads of lines saying

Code:
Content visible to verified customers only.
Dark Lord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 2nd, 2010, 09:05 PM   #113
Chuck S
Photopost Developer
Verified Customer
 
Chuck S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Abingdon,MD
Posts: 75,134
did you specify the correct path to import photos in the import script did you have images imported? That error tells me the images do not exist so we are removing that result from the database.
__________________
Photopost Developer and Support Engineer

Please do not PM me for support or sales questions. Thank you for your understanding.
Chuck S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 3rd, 2010, 04:48 AM   #114
Dark Lord
Member
Verified Customer
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 30
No images were moved to the new dir, the old one is /files/2/4/9/ the new one /data/3/ so I can't even rename the dir
Dark Lord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 3rd, 2010, 07:00 AM   #115
OMAN_LOVER
Junior Member
Verified Customer
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3
where is the support team?

i have sent an email many times to support email but i didn't get any response till date ?!
OMAN_LOVER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 3rd, 2010, 11:05 AM   #116
Chuck S
Photopost Developer
Verified Customer
 
Chuck S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Abingdon,MD
Posts: 75,134
directory names are not the issue. Are you paths correct? Is it just images from one specific albums user what?

Oman any emails sent to us have been answered. If you have a support question then please open a forum topic on your issue.
__________________
Photopost Developer and Support Engineer

Please do not PM me for support or sales questions. Thank you for your understanding.
Chuck S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 3rd, 2010, 11:25 AM   #117
Dark Lord
Member
Verified Customer
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chuck S View Post
directory names are not the issue. Are you paths correct? Is it just images from one specific albums user what?
afaik all the paths are correct, when it I update it and it says Checking photo #1: image /home/xxxxx/public_html/gallery/data/3/

The 3 dir was never created.

The paths I used were /home/xxxxx/public_html/gallery/data and /home/xxxxx/public_html/gallery/files for the vba files, they look ok don't they?

And it's not just one person it's on all people, also when it's created the categories and I try to upload a pic to them it says file type not yet set, if I try and upload to a category I just made it works fine.
Dark Lord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 3rd, 2010, 11:35 AM   #118
Chuck S
Photopost Developer
Verified Customer
 
Chuck S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Abingdon,MD
Posts: 75,134
Is safe mode set to ON on your server?
__________________
Photopost Developer and Support Engineer

Please do not PM me for support or sales questions. Thank you for your understanding.
Chuck S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 3rd, 2010, 11:51 AM   #119
Dark Lord
Member
Verified Customer
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 30
No safe mode is off
Dark Lord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 3rd, 2010, 11:56 AM   #120
Chuck S
Photopost Developer
Verified Customer
 
Chuck S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Abingdon,MD
Posts: 75,134
Well see earlier in another thread you had a path wrong I see.

Based on you telling me that safe mode is off I would think you either have a permissions issue because permissions need to be 777 or your path is wrong.

On the importer the grabbing of categories we insert the categories via sql and then create the necessary cat file paths like so

Code:
Content visible to verified customers only.
Thats where the directories are created based on the path your telling the program

So if the paths are not created on importing files you should be seeing lots of errors.

Is it just this one category or all categories?

If its just that one category create the necessary directory and reimport.
__________________
Photopost Developer and Support Engineer

Please do not PM me for support or sales questions. Thank you for your understanding.
Chuck S is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
import script for going from vBgallery to Photopost Pro? BrentWilson Before You Buy 2 January 7th, 2006 02:58 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:01 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.