PhotoPost Photo Gallery Sales PhotoPost Sales Toll Free Phone Number
Mon-Fri 9am-4pm EST
  PhotoPost Photo Sharing Photo Gallery    Visualize community tm
| | | | | | | | |

Go Back   PhotoPost Community > PhotoPost Support > PhotoPost Pro Support Forums > Photopost Pro Import Scripts

Photopost Pro Import Scripts Looking to upgrade to PhotoPost? We'll post any importers we develop here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 3 votes, 2.33 average. Display Modes
Old May 18th, 2011, 12:05 PM   #181
Chuck S
Photopost Developer
Verified Customer
 
Chuck S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Abingdon,MD
Posts: 75,202
This script was written many years ago for a specific purpose when we first obtained vbGallery. That purpose has long since passed and the licensing to the products was merged into one license and new customers can choose what product they want to run.

It was never a script released and supported by the company. I have no plans to develop or support this script. As noted it is released as is. This is a three and a half year old script.
__________________
Photopost Developer and Support Engineer

Please do not PM me for support or sales questions. Thank you for your understanding.
Chuck S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 19th, 2011, 05:00 AM   #182
fotografo74
Member
Verified Customer
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 75
Thanks Chuck
I have news:
i tried on my test installation of vBGallery and Photopost Pro on my NAS.....and works at 90%....
The connection with DB is perfect, the script works ( vBGallery 3.0.1 and Photopost 7.1 )...only problem is that the original files not are in data folder!
Can you see please ? A community photo gallery - My Photo Gallery
Why on my NAS the script works almost perfect and on my live site the connection to DB not works? argh......
Thanks Chuck
Antonio
fotografo74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 19th, 2011, 08:01 AM   #183
Chuck S
Photopost Developer
Verified Customer
 
Chuck S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Abingdon,MD
Posts: 75,202
You will probally have to look at the script but no doubt it probally isnt coded to copy an original image which is optional in vbgallery. In vbGallery there is a thumbnail and a main image. In Pro there is a thumbnail and the the main image. Mediums are optional in Pro.

This old importer is probally only coded to pull the thumbnail and main image.
__________________
Photopost Developer and Support Engineer

Please do not PM me for support or sales questions. Thank you for your understanding.
Chuck S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 17th, 2011, 10:49 PM   #184
elyk
Member
Verified Customer
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: British Columbia, Ca
Posts: 59
Just trying this and when I am on vbag.php and go to enter my server path info for Server Path to vbag Data Directory and Server Path to Photopost Data Directory it doesn't seem to take my pasted info.

Is there a character limit set somewhere? Looks to be about 50, unfortunately my server paths are around 80 characters.
elyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 17th, 2011, 11:01 PM   #185
Chuck S
Photopost Developer
Verified Customer
 
Chuck S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Abingdon,MD
Posts: 75,202
You would have to alter the maxlength settings for the input boxes on the script from 50 to 100
__________________
Photopost Developer and Support Engineer

Please do not PM me for support or sales questions. Thank you for your understanding.
Chuck S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 18th, 2011, 04:20 AM   #186
elyk
Member
Verified Customer
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: British Columbia, Ca
Posts: 59
And it worked. Thanks Chuck!
elyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 18th, 2011, 08:47 AM   #187
Chuck S
Photopost Developer
Verified Customer
 
Chuck S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Abingdon,MD
Posts: 75,202
No problem let is know if you need anything else.
__________________
Photopost Developer and Support Engineer

Please do not PM me for support or sales questions. Thank you for your understanding.
Chuck S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 19th, 2011, 01:05 AM   #188
Trews
Member
Verified Customer
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 43
Chak could you please confirm, that it is possible or not possible import from vbGallery to PHOTOPOST?
I am pretty much sick and tired using third parties software for my site. At the moment my site is offline koz vbgallery(photopost) is not working properly.
May be you should dedicate your self to ksenoforums and refund vBulletin owners?
Trews is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 19th, 2011, 07:55 AM   #189
Chuck S
Photopost Developer
Verified Customer
 
Chuck S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Abingdon,MD
Posts: 75,202
This little utility should work to transfer content as it states from vbgallery to Pro.

Unless your a software developer you will always use third party software for your site. If you have an issue with vbGallery you might want to post on the support forums about the issue.
__________________
Photopost Developer and Support Engineer

Please do not PM me for support or sales questions. Thank you for your understanding.
Chuck S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 12th, 2012, 10:55 PM   #190
Fenriz
Member
Verified Customer
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 54
Does this utility work for vBGallery 2.52, 3.01 and Photopost 8.03?
Fenriz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 12th, 2012, 11:57 PM   #191
Chuck S
Photopost Developer
Verified Customer
 
Chuck S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Abingdon,MD
Posts: 75,202
to my knowledge it should work it is not tied to vbulletin in any way it is an external script that queries database tables and copies things over into the photopost database and moving vbgallery files to the proper structure in photopost.
__________________
Photopost Developer and Support Engineer

Please do not PM me for support or sales questions. Thank you for your understanding.
Chuck S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 14th, 2012, 01:40 AM   #192
seite7
Junior Member
Verified Customer
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 5
Is this script still supposed to work with the latest version of vbGallery/Photopost and PHP?

Quote:
Warning: mysql_num_rows(): supplied argument is not a valid MySQL result resource in XXX/public_html/photopost/vbag.php on line 340
Importing 1 Categories.... please wait
Quote:
Warning: mysql_num_rows(): supplied argument is not a valid MySQL result resource in XXX/public_html/photopost/vbag.php on line 416
Importing 1 Photos .... Please wait
seite7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 14th, 2012, 08:26 AM   #193
Chuck S
Photopost Developer
Verified Customer
 
Chuck S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Abingdon,MD
Posts: 75,202
It should since it is not version dependent. That error says to me that your config info is not correct like for instance your photopost table prefix.

I would suggest you check the script config file and verify the info in there.
__________________
Photopost Developer and Support Engineer

Please do not PM me for support or sales questions. Thank you for your understanding.
Chuck S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 24th, 2012, 02:10 PM   #194
alv2937
Junior Member
Verified Customer
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 13
The script works normally. But we have problems with moving of pictures.

Empty folders are created and pictures inside aren't present.

There are no any error messages
alv2937 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 24th, 2012, 02:42 PM   #195
Chuck S
Photopost Developer
Verified Customer
 
Chuck S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Abingdon,MD
Posts: 75,202
You need to explain in detail what you mean. This is an old script and released as is.

Provided you have inputted in the config all the proper information any necessary paths should be created with proper permissions and files copied to new locations.

I could not offer an opinion without actual direct examples.
__________________
Photopost Developer and Support Engineer

Please do not PM me for support or sales questions. Thank you for your understanding.
Chuck S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 26th, 2012, 09:28 AM   #196
Chuck S
Photopost Developer
Verified Customer
 
Chuck S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Abingdon,MD
Posts: 75,202
I have not seen a response here and there would be issues present if images are not copied or database entries completed so need to see your site if you want an accurate response.
__________________
Photopost Developer and Support Engineer

Please do not PM me for support or sales questions. Thank you for your understanding.
Chuck S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 23rd, 2013, 05:06 PM   #197
Regs
Member
Verified Customer
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 180
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chuck S View Post
Kevin

This now supports the originalfile if it exists we import that file. Actually was quite easy bout 10 mins to do. vbGallery stores the originalname as you instructed so no need for fancy coding. All we need to do is a couple if switches when we import the photos.
The first post was updated last summer and as far as I can tell, the above change is not in the current uploaded import files.

Can we get this?

The current import file also shows this in the import images section:

Code:
Content visible to verified customers only.
Note that $filesize, $width & $height are all defined twice? And if they are supposed to be different, the INSERT statement only uses one of them.

I did a test import and everything went well except for not grabbing the original images.

Any help would be appreciated.

Cheers,

Regs.
Regs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 23rd, 2013, 07:31 PM   #198
Chuck S
Photopost Developer
Verified Customer
 
Chuck S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Abingdon,MD
Posts: 75,202
I believe the file was reattached because it was corrupt and someone tried to use it. I designed the script 5 and a half years ago and thats what was attached. If there was a modified version around I could not say but the script is released as is as stated. I am still in a development phrase right now having had 3 open betas for some time now and just finished up two of the three.

If I get some free time I might look at it for you but it is not something I am promising I can get to real soon. Maybe in a few when the cycle is over.
__________________
Photopost Developer and Support Engineer

Please do not PM me for support or sales questions. Thank you for your understanding.
Chuck S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 24th, 2013, 01:07 PM   #199
Regs
Member
Verified Customer
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 180
Thanks.

I just need the original images imported and then I can regenerate everything else based on that.

I would try and muck around with it on my own but I'm no programmer.
Regs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 24th, 2013, 01:55 PM   #200
Chuck S
Photopost Developer
Verified Customer
 
Chuck S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Abingdon,MD
Posts: 75,202
Not a problem like I said it will be a little bit before I could look at it.
__________________
Photopost Developer and Support Engineer

Please do not PM me for support or sales questions. Thank you for your understanding.
Chuck S is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
import script for going from vBgallery to Photopost Pro? BrentWilson Before You Buy 2 January 7th, 2006 02:58 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:46 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.