PhotoPost Photo Gallery Sales PhotoPost Sales Toll Free Phone Number
Mon-Fri 9am-4pm EST
  PhotoPost Photo Sharing Photo Gallery    Visualize community tm
| | | | | | | | |

Go Back   PhotoPost Community > General Forums > General Discussion

General Discussion General use discussion forum for PhotoPost products.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old August 25th, 2007, 02:52 AM   #1
BumpStop
Junior Member
Verified Customer
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 22
Thumbnails are not generating after upload.

Hi,

I've looked long and hard in the forums, too many possibilities. My site is not uploading/processing photos correctly. This just recently started and I haven't change code to my site for months now. I had a successful upload yesterday, but I'm assuming a DB error or my isp changed something.

When I or a user upload a photo, we don't get an error or blank screen, it seems to process fine, but doesn't display. The gallery shows the photo name instead of the image, and when you click on it to expand, it does the same. The photo only displays in "print view" mode.

I ran some tests, thinking rebuilding thumbnails for that particular directory would work, but now I don't have any thumbs showing for that directory and I've seemed to make it worse.

Any ideas?

Example directory that I hosed up.
http://www.bumpstop.com/gallery/showgallery.php/cat/522

Thanks,
Garrett
BumpStop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 25th, 2007, 09:08 AM   #2
Chuck S
Photopost Developer
Verified Customer
 
Chuck S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Abingdon,MD
Posts: 75,194
You would need to verify in the global options and storage options that your urls and server paths are correct maybe your host changed them
__________________
Photopost Developer and Support Engineer

Please do not PM me for support or sales questions. Thank you for your understanding.
Chuck S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 25th, 2007, 11:50 AM   #3
BumpStop
Junior Member
Verified Customer
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 22
Hi Chuck,

So, after some sleep, I checked the permissions on the thumbs and all the thumbs changed to 440. I set them to 666 and they work fine now.

Bigger question is, how do I make it write the correct permissions moving forward?

Thanks,
Garrett
BumpStop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 25th, 2007, 12:49 PM   #4
Chuck S
Photopost Developer
Verified Customer
 
Chuck S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Abingdon,MD
Posts: 75,194
You would need to contact your webhost and have them correct this. The default permissions for files wrote to the server should be 644 or 666
__________________
Photopost Developer and Support Engineer

Please do not PM me for support or sales questions. Thank you for your understanding.
Chuck S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 25th, 2007, 03:40 PM   #5
BumpStop
Junior Member
Verified Customer
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 22
Thanks. I will contact them. What process is writing them? I need to have specifics ready.

Thanks,
Garrett
BumpStop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 25th, 2007, 04:32 PM   #6
Chuck S
Photopost Developer
Verified Customer
 
Chuck S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Abingdon,MD
Posts: 75,194
You need to explain to them that files created from the upload need to be set to 644 or 666 and right now your server is setting them to say 400 so they are non web accessible
__________________
Photopost Developer and Support Engineer

Please do not PM me for support or sales questions. Thank you for your understanding.
Chuck S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 26th, 2007, 09:02 PM   #7
BumpStop
Junior Member
Verified Customer
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 22
After some more investigation, looks like it's the image processing that is not setting permissions.

I tested and checked the directories.

The original image uploads fine and permissions are correct. It's the medium and the thumbnails that are not set correctly.

Is it safe assume that the image processing (GD2) is writing these wrong?

Is that what I tell my host?

Thanks,
Garrett
BumpStop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 27th, 2007, 08:08 AM   #8
Chuck S
Photopost Developer
Verified Customer
 
Chuck S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Abingdon,MD
Posts: 75,194
Sorry that is an incorrect assumption. The software will set a file to 666 if it can be set to 666 otherwise the file is going to take permission from the serverr

Your host must fix their server as instructed. We have seen this issue over and over again with one or two hosts its always the same hosts
__________________
Photopost Developer and Support Engineer

Please do not PM me for support or sales questions. Thank you for your understanding.
Chuck S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 28th, 2007, 11:25 AM   #9
BumpStop
Junior Member
Verified Customer
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 22
Hi Everyone,

I justed wanted to close this ticket for the benefit of everyone else having similar issues.

My host did resolve the issue as they patched the system which didn't allow the scripts to set the right permissions.

Thanks Chuck for the insight.

Garrett
BumpStop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 28th, 2007, 11:28 AM   #10
Chuck S
Photopost Developer
Verified Customer
 
Chuck S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Abingdon,MD
Posts: 75,194
No problem enjoy
__________________
Photopost Developer and Support Engineer

Please do not PM me for support or sales questions. Thank you for your understanding.
Chuck S is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:40 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.