PhotoPost Photo Gallery Sales PhotoPost Sales Toll Free Phone Number
Mon-Fri 9am-4pm EST
  PhotoPost Photo Sharing Photo Gallery    Visualize community tm
| | | | | | | | |

Go Back   PhotoPost Community > General Forums > General Discussion

General Discussion General use discussion forum for PhotoPost products.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old November 1st, 2006, 12:20 PM   #1
pengrus
Senior Member
Verified Customer
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 603
Split database? PP integrating with phpbb

Our current setup is Photopost Pro and phpBB are in the same database. All phpBB tables have prefix of phpbb_.

The database grows pretty large now at 280MB. This makes the backup/restore more difficult. I was thinking maybe it will help if I split the database, and make them two separate databases. Is this possible and easy to do? If we split them into two databases, do we still have integration?

Thanks for your help.
pengrus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 1st, 2006, 04:32 PM   #2
Chuck S
Photopost Developer
Verified Customer
 
Chuck S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Abingdon,MD
Posts: 74,495
Easy just create a new database

Backup the photopost tables

Restore the photopost tables to the new database

Change the config-inc.php file to reflect the new photopost database connection info

Go view your Photopost site

If everything views correctly and works your safe to delete the photopost tables from the old database
__________________
Photopost Developer and Support Engineer

Please do not PM me for support or sales questions. Thank you for your understanding.
Chuck S is online now   Reply With Quote
Old November 1st, 2006, 06:35 PM   #3
pengrus
Senior Member
Verified Customer
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 603
Chuck,

If I do this, will the integration with phpbb still work? I noticed in photopost admin, it asks phpbb table pre-fix. I don't know how it the integration works with two separate database.

Thanks!
Sean
pengrus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 1st, 2006, 06:55 PM   #4
Chuck S
Photopost Developer
Verified Customer
 
Chuck S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Abingdon,MD
Posts: 74,495
yes you only update your config file on the photopost part not user database

There is a photopost database portion and then a user database portion
__________________
Photopost Developer and Support Engineer

Please do not PM me for support or sales questions. Thank you for your understanding.
Chuck S is online now   Reply With Quote
Old November 1st, 2006, 07:02 PM   #5
pengrus
Senior Member
Verified Customer
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 603
cool, I will give it a try. Thank you for explaining it to me.
pengrus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 1st, 2006, 07:05 PM   #6
pengrus
Senior Member
Verified Customer
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 603
Oh, for LARGE database, do you think we'll be better off to split them into two separate database to gain (1) speed, and (2) ease of future upgrade and maintanence?
pengrus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:44 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.