PhotoPost Photo Sharing Photo Gallery    Visualize community tm
| | | |

Go Back   PhotoPost Community > General Forums > General Discussion

General Discussion General use discussion forum for PhotoPost products.

Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old August 24th, 2006, 03:06 PM   #1
Registered User
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: somewhere north
Posts: 31
cookies, firefox, different domains

ok i'm sure this topic has been rehashed ad-nausea but let's see if i can spin things differently

phpbb site =
pp site =

using apache2 with vhosts where = /var/www/ = /var/www/

phpbb cookies:
cookie_domain =
cookie_name = <null>
cookie_path = /

photopost pro cookies:
cookie_domain =
cookieprefix = <null>
cookie_path = /

So the strange part in all this, the part that i'd like to undestand better is that everything works great in IE7 (beta3), but in firefox (1.5) it doesn't.

Here are the steps i follow ... they are the same in IE7 and Firefox:
1. connect and login to (which is in fact phpnuke 7.8, therefore its using phpbb2.0.15)
2. press the gallery link which redirects me to
3. now the problem ... with IE7 there is NO problem, it works as expected ... with Firefox there IS a problem - i am NOT logged in.

So I looked at my cookies. IE7 shows a "user" key of "", as does Firefox. In this sense things are still exactly the same. The distinction is that once i'm at in firefox, i must login again, and when i do that i notice an new "user" key of ""

looking for advice, on where i am going wrong with my configuration, or if i need to do something differently?
skj310 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 24th, 2006, 06:17 PM   #2
Chuck S
Photopost Developer
Verified Customer
Chuck S's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Abingdon,MD
Posts: 75,926
In Nuke if I remember correctly you need to visit the forum first so the forum cookie is created and then you can go to the gallery. At least that was my last working with nuke that I remember otherwise the cookie for the forum does not exist

cookies should work in firefox fine if they work in IE as in browsers all read cookies the same way.
Photopost Developer and Support Engineer

Please do not PM me for support or sales questions. Thank you for your understanding.
Chuck S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 24th, 2006, 06:31 PM   #3
Registered User
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: somewhere north
Posts: 31
exactly correct! that was the ticket indeed! still it is strange that i do not need to visit the forum part of phpnuke if i'm viewing with IE. i guess i'm gonna have to figure out a way in which to have those phpbb cookies initialized when visiting the home page of phpnuke.

thanks for the quick response chuck!
skj310 is offline   Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:16 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.