PhotoPost Photo Gallery Sales PhotoPost Sales Toll Free Phone Number
Mon-Fri 9am-4pm EST
  PhotoPost Photo Sharing Photo Gallery    Visualize community tm
| | | | | | | | |

Go Back   PhotoPost Community > General Forums > General Discussion

General Discussion General use discussion forum for PhotoPost products.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old January 7th, 2006, 09:21 PM   #1
titusc
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 62
How to upgrade?

Hello,

I already have a copy of PhotoPost running with my vBulletin. How do I upgrade this copy to the latest version? I just downloaded it but the instruction assumes a full and fresh install.

Thanks.
titusc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 8th, 2006, 06:04 AM   #2
Zachariah
Registered User
 
Zachariah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Canoga Park, CA
Posts: 3,244
Send a message via ICQ to Zachariah Send a message via AIM to Zachariah Send a message via MSN to Zachariah Send a message via Skype™ to Zachariah
Quote:
Originally Posted by titusc
Hello,

I already have a copy of PhotoPost running with my vBulletin. How do I upgrade this copy to the latest version? I just downloaded it but the instruction assumes a full and fresh install.

Thanks.
Hello,

What version ?
- PhotoPost ( which of the 4 products)

What did you download ?

Zachariah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 8th, 2006, 06:25 AM   #3
titusc
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 62
Hello,

It's PhotoPost PHP 4.0.1 to the latest version. And yeah, what's the difference between the different PhotoPost?
BTW, is it possible to set a specific category to be private (and also hidden) assesible by selected members?

Thanks.
titusc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 8th, 2006, 10:00 AM   #4
Chuck S
Photopost Developer
Verified Customer
 
Chuck S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Abingdon,MD
Posts: 75,143
In the documentation folder of Photopost there is an upgrade.doc file

Basically to upgrade you should upload all files except config-inc.php and run the upgrade.php script selecting the options from 4.0 forward through 5.1
__________________
Photopost Developer and Support Engineer

Please do not PM me for support or sales questions. Thank you for your understanding.
Chuck S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 10th, 2006, 05:24 AM   #5
titusc
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 62
Hello,

Thanks for the reply. Just a few questions. It says in the upgrade.txt file:
Quote:
1) Check for new config-inc.php variables, some recent additions are:

$cookie_domain has been added for website cookies. I highly recommend setting this to ".youdomain.com" where
yourdomain is the name of your domain. This will enable cookies to be read across your website regardless
of the URL (i.e. galley.website.com and forums.website.com). If you are using a forum integration you
must have this set in both your forums and photopost.

$vblicense is for VB3 users and is required to encrypt your passwords if you are not using vB3Enhanced
mode. Without it you will not be able to login to VB3.

2) Upload all files - except config-inc.php, unless you modified it from the ZIP file - to
your server. You do not need install.php for an upgrade.
a) I don't see the variable $cookie_domain in the config file. Where is it located?
b) I have put my vblicense number in for $vblicense. But just of curiosity, where can I find out if vBulletin is set to vb3Enchanced or not?
c) There are a lot of settings omitted from this latest config file, compared to the one I have for version 4.0.1. Where do I find the settings for them? For example, the following are no longer in the config file:
i) $ppboards
ii) $closedmsg
iii) $jhead_command
iv) $jpegtran
v) $mysqldumppath
vi) $backupdir
vii) $usegd
viii) $onthefly
ix) $debug
x) $cookie_path
xi) $cookieprefix
xii) $botbuster
xiii) $compression
xiv) $ppdateformat
xv) $gmtoffset
etc, etc, etc.....
titusc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 10th, 2006, 08:30 AM   #6
Chuck S
Photopost Developer
Verified Customer
 
Chuck S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Abingdon,MD
Posts: 75,143
Okay as stated do not use the new config file. See what happens is all those extra settings in that old config file on upgrade are gonna be transfered to the database.

The only thing you may want to add to your config is $PP_PATH if it is not in there and cookie domain. vb3enhanced is a term we use for our product not vb3. You can turn on enhanced integration with vb3 loading there header footer stylesheet as well as using there wysiwyg posting box for comments etc.

Just upload all files except the config-inc.php ( use the old one ) and run the upgrade script selecting every version from your old version to the last upgrade script only running each step once.
__________________
Photopost Developer and Support Engineer

Please do not PM me for support or sales questions. Thank you for your understanding.
Chuck S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 10th, 2006, 11:09 PM   #7
titusc
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 62
Hello,

Can you please explain the vb3 and the vb3 integration thing? I'm not quite following.

Thanks.
titusc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:03 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.