PhotoPost Photo Gallery Sales PhotoPost Sales Toll Free Phone Number
Mon-Fri 9am-4pm EST
  PhotoPost Photo Sharing Photo Gallery    Visualize community tm
| | | | | | | | |

Go Back   PhotoPost Community > General Forums > General Discussion

General Discussion General use discussion forum for PhotoPost products.

View Poll Results: Do you use one data base for all your programs or seperate them one per database?
All in One Database 2 33.33%
One Per Database 4 66.67%
Voters: 6. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old January 7th, 2006, 01:53 AM   #1
dcpaq2
Member
Verified Customer
 
dcpaq2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 252
Send a message via Yahoo to dcpaq2
Databases

Group,

How many of you use a single database for everything, and how many of you seperate your databases one per program?

Im undecided as to wheather or not combine all my programs to run from one database or to give each program their own database.

Any information or feedback on this would be greatly appreciated.

I have also included a poll for the first question if anyone would like to cast their vote.

Thanks

Doug
dcpaq2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 7th, 2006, 08:04 AM   #2
Zachariah
Registered User
 
Zachariah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Canoga Park, CA
Posts: 3,244
Send a message via ICQ to Zachariah Send a message via AIM to Zachariah Send a message via MSN to Zachariah Send a message via Skype™ to Zachariah
Well I play with a few things.

- It would depend on the traffic and size of your database
(in my case both are small: 400 Meg SQL / 100,000 hits a day / 2500 members / 40 @ a time MAX)

I could put it all in 1 DB, but I do not like the mess.

DB1
- vBulletin 3.5x
- PP vBGallery
- Other photopost stuff (soon)
- VPortal
- ect .......... VB stuff

DB2
- phpADnews
- Site Stats Tracker
- Support System

DB3
- Current projects

Last edited by Zachariah; January 7th, 2006 at 08:12 AM.
Zachariah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 7th, 2006, 12:43 PM   #3
dcpaq2
Member
Verified Customer
 
dcpaq2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 252
Send a message via Yahoo to dcpaq2
I dont beleive my Vbulletin database will get as big as your database of 400MB as I use a file system and don't store "Everything" such as attachments and such in the database, Im still thinking that a seperate database for each program is better than cramming them all into one database to make working with the site easier. Am I thinking the right thing here?

I have heard in the past that things perform better when they are all in one database on smaller sites, but slower on larger sites, but im looking at this from an admin's point of view having to do restores and website moves to another server or domain name (if it should ever have to be done), in otherwords what makes things easier on me, especially if the performance gain is very minimal between the two ways of doing things.

My site won't have lots of hits or traffic compared to some of these other sites out there, but I will be running three programs, possibly four that require databases, but for sure i'll be running the following.

Vbulletin, Photo Post Pro, Photo Post Classifieds, Flash Chat.

I'm just wanting to do this right the first time, That's the reasoning behind all the questions and doubt's and confusion.

Doug
dcpaq2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 7th, 2006, 01:01 PM   #4
Zachariah
Registered User
 
Zachariah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Canoga Park, CA
Posts: 3,244
Send a message via ICQ to Zachariah Send a message via AIM to Zachariah Send a message via MSN to Zachariah Send a message via Skype™ to Zachariah
I do not store attachments / avatars / images in DB
- only text

IMO

- Flash Chat, Ajax Chat (anything that needs SQL / Refreash) is a waste of time.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Users of Scrips
My site keeps on going over the host providers data limit it is 30gb per month service
- Find a IRC server and use a Java / Flash IRC client.
This uses client bandwith and IRC server bandwith vs. webserver bandwith except for the plugin downloaded to the client on startup.

Last edited by Zachariah; January 7th, 2006 at 01:06 PM.
Zachariah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 7th, 2006, 01:28 PM   #5
dcpaq2
Member
Verified Customer
 
dcpaq2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 252
Send a message via Yahoo to dcpaq2
Quote:
I do not store attachments / avatars / images in DB
- only text
Actually I wasnt implying that you did it that way, I was only explaining how I do it and that my board isnt as busy as others are. Maybe in 5 or 6 years It will be that big, but time will tell.

Quote:
- Flash Chat, Ajax Chat (anything that needs SQL / Refreash) is a waste of time. Originally Posted by Users of Scrips
My site keeps on going over the host providers data limit it is 30gb per month service- Find a IRC server and use a Java / Flash IRC client.
This uses client bandwith and IRC server bandwith vs. webserver bandwith except for the plugin downloaded to the client on startup.
I have had nothing but trouble with IRC Servers and try to stay as far away from those as possible. Flash Chat works fine for me for what I want to do and bandwidth really isn't that big of an issuse being I dont have thousands of users on my site. (less than 500) Besides I have way more than 30 GB per month.

Anyway were drifting off topic back to databases please...

Doug
dcpaq2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 7th, 2006, 07:59 PM   #6
Crow
Member
Verified Customer
 
Crow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Michigan. USA
Posts: 205
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zachariah

DB2

- Site Stats Tracker
Can I ask what software you are using as I need something like this... I hate off site options and want it all to run on my host.
Crow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 15th, 2006, 09:27 PM   #7
Swanny
Member
Verified Customer
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Here
Posts: 385
Every web app has it's own db. I don't want my entire site to go down if I have db problems on one thing.
__________________
My PhotoPost Installations are at:
FordF150.net - Ford Truck Enthusiast Site
FordFlex.net - Ford Flex Enthusiast Site
FordTaurus.net - Ford Taurus Enthusiast Site
FordFusion.net - Ford Fusion Enthusiast Site
Swanny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 16th, 2006, 05:10 AM   #8
dcpaq2
Member
Verified Customer
 
dcpaq2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 252
Send a message via Yahoo to dcpaq2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Swanny
Every web app has it's own db. I don't want my entire site to go down if I have db problems on one thing.
Good Idea Swanny. I will have to keep that in mind.

Doug
dcpaq2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Combining Databases HobbyTalk General Discussion 5 December 20th, 2004 11:52 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:18 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.