PhotoPost Photo Gallery Sales PhotoPost Sales Toll Free Phone Number
Mon-Fri 9am-4pm EST
  PhotoPost Photo Sharing Photo Gallery    Visualize community tm
| | | | | | | | |

Go Back   PhotoPost Community > General Forums > General Discussion

General Discussion General use discussion forum for PhotoPost products.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old December 11th, 2005, 07:14 AM   #1
taveren
Member
Verified Customer
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 94
"35mm equiv." EXIF showing wrong.

I see this has been brought up before, but I would like to further the discussion in a new thread. Currently, a few users of my site have purchased new cameras, and within the EXIF displayed on the site, they have something like:

"Focal length: 72.0mm (35mm equivalent: 1814mm)"

Now, that's obviously wrong, but I can't figure out where it's coming from. I understand photopost isn't going to be creating this number, but the real problem stems from the fact that "1814" doesn't exist in the EXIF anywhere. Is it possible that jhead itself is getting confused about these numbers and making them up?

In relation, my own photos out of a DSLR actually have a field labeled "Focal Length in 35mm film", but it doesn't get displayed at all in the EXIF within photopost, but neither does this made up number.

Any ideas as to how I can solve this?

EDIT:

Alright, so I should have done this first. jhead reports the exact same incorrect info on the command line, so that's obviously where it's coming from. I've just installed the latest version available to me (2.4) and it reports the same thing. I'll head over to jhead for support, but are there any ideas here?

Last edited by taveren; December 11th, 2005 at 07:21 AM.
taveren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2005, 07:51 AM   #2
Chuck S
Photopost Developer
Verified Customer
 
Chuck S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Abingdon,MD
Posts: 75,050
Sorry nope you would need to see what jhead says.
__________________
Photopost Developer and Support Engineer

Please do not PM me for support or sales questions. Thank you for your understanding.
Chuck S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2005, 08:49 AM   #3
taveren
Member
Verified Customer
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 94
Well, a quick "man jhead" reveals this tidbit:

Quote:
Some CANON digital SLR cameras fail to adjust the effective sensor resolution when shooting at less than full resolution, causing jhead to incorrectly miscalculate the sensor width and 35mm equivalent focal length. Jhead usually gets blamed for this bug, but it is in fact a camera bug, and jhead can't do much about it, and I'm not about to add camera bug specific hacks to it.
Guess I need to call Canon.
taveren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2005, 08:54 AM   #4
Chuck S
Photopost Developer
Verified Customer
 
Chuck S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Abingdon,MD
Posts: 75,050
I admire him actually for taking a stand and saying he is not going to code camera bugs into his program
__________________
Photopost Developer and Support Engineer

Please do not PM me for support or sales questions. Thank you for your understanding.
Chuck S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2005, 09:29 PM   #5
taveren
Member
Verified Customer
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 94
I found that Panasonic camera's don't quite work out well either. I emailed the author of jhead and he suggested I edit the code, so I did.

exif.c: Comment out lines 856 and 861, then recompile jhead. (type 'make' and see what happens).

Of course, you won't get any support from the jhead author, nor me, so your on your own. Once you have a new jhead binary, just put it someplace (don't overwrite your old one), and change the path in the admin for Photopost.
taveren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 15th, 2005, 09:33 AM   #6
Chuck S
Photopost Developer
Verified Customer
 
Chuck S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Abingdon,MD
Posts: 75,050
At least he told you thats good
__________________
Photopost Developer and Support Engineer

Please do not PM me for support or sales questions. Thank you for your understanding.
Chuck S is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:51 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.