PhotoPost Photo Gallery Sales PhotoPost Sales Toll Free Phone Number
Mon-Fri 9am-4pm EST
  PhotoPost Photo Sharing Photo Gallery    Visualize community tm
| | | | | | | | |

Go Back   PhotoPost Community > General Forums > Before You Buy

Before You Buy Have questions about PhotoPost, ReviewPost and/or PhotoPost Classifieds before you buy?

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old October 24th, 2005, 02:21 PM   #1
chrisrixon
Junior Member
Verified Customer
 
chrisrixon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 22
Question Using vBadvanced Gallery with NOT pictures

I want to upload custom multimedia, not images, (you say "Support for multimedia and any other types of files")

1) Can I generate the thumbnails myself (external script etc)?

2) Can I upload directly from a PC program - not a web page?
(I can simulate a web form upload)

3) Can I upload, say a zip and have a custom process unzip it and point vBaG at the unzipped content?

4) Is it possible to phone you guys?

I can do a bit or perl but have not done any php yet.

Regards Chris.
chrisrixon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 24th, 2005, 02:43 PM   #2
KW802
Registered User
Verified Customer
 
KW802's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,400
Re: Using vBadvanced Gallery with NOT pictures

1) The current version doesn't have the ability of associating a different thumbnail to the file. For example, you can't upload a .zip file and then show a thumbnail of a picture, instead by default you'll see a generic zip file icon.

2) The Gallery will currently receive files via the web page upload or via FTP but you'll still need to go the web page to bring the files into Gallery's DB after they've been upload by either method. For example, the FTP method is how I upload my wedding & vacation photos and then I go to the Gallery 'upload' page to bring them into Gallery in batch mode.

3) If you're familiar with PHP you may be able to hack it as such but that is not a functionality out of the box.

4) Normally all support is handled online but if you require anything out of the ordinary I'd suggest submitting a Support Ticket to see what can be worked out.
KW802 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 24th, 2005, 02:43 PM   #3
Brian
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Using vBadvanced Gallery with NOT pictures

1). Any files (such as media) that cannot have a thumbnail generated will use a default thumbnail depending on the file type.
2). No, all images have to be uploaded through the web.
3). Currently there is no support for zip uploads.
4). Sorry, but we do not handle any support or pre-sale questions over the phone.
  Reply With Quote
Old October 24th, 2005, 03:13 PM   #4
chrisrixon
Junior Member
Verified Customer
 
chrisrixon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 22
Lightbulb Re: Using vBadvanced Gallery with NOT pictures

Well you guys are fast at replying even if its not what I want to hear

How easy is it to hack this stuff then?

For example take the thumbnails, it doesn't sound like rocket science to patch it to do something else?

Do I get any pointers in hacking from support eg "look here to change the thumbnail code".

Thanks Chris.
chrisrixon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 24th, 2005, 03:16 PM   #5
Brian
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Using vBadvanced Gallery with NOT pictures

If you're comfortable with hacking vBulletin then you shouldn't have too many problems with the gallery. We can give you some pointers and such to help you find the right places to look, but anything more than that will depend on the amount of time we have.
  Reply With Quote
Old October 24th, 2005, 03:19 PM   #6
chrisrixon
Junior Member
Verified Customer
 
chrisrixon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 22
Cool Re: Using vBadvanced Gallery with NOT pictures

Ok here's an idea

Lets say I upload a thumbnail image and I tack on the end of that image binary data (it will still look like a JPEG to most viewers).

That solves the thumbnail problem, it will just work.

Can I change the code that views the picture full size to be something else eg java so that I can display the info exactly how I want?

Cheers Chris.
chrisrixon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 24th, 2005, 03:51 PM   #7
KW802
Registered User
Verified Customer
 
KW802's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,400
Re: Using vBadvanced Gallery with NOT pictures

1) Wouldn't work because the thumbnails are based upon the file extension. If you leave the extension to be a zip file then the default .zip file icon will be displayed. If you change the extension to be .jpg then it will fail during the upload process because the code checks the file extension versus the file type (as identified by the PHP function) and rejects it if they don't match. You would have to hack around the extension check.

2) Again, it depends upon much PHP 'know-how' you have and/or are willing to hack the code.
KW802 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 25th, 2005, 05:04 AM   #8
chrisrixon
Junior Member
Verified Customer
 
chrisrixon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 22
Question Re: Using vBadvanced Gallery with NOT pictures

Ok thanks for that.

Another question.

I noticed that with music fies, when I click them the file gets downloaded rather than simply being played. Is this normal?

Ta Chris.
chrisrixon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 25th, 2005, 07:24 AM   #9
Brian
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Using vBadvanced Gallery with NOT pictures

Yes, though there is a hack released here that will allow you to play them inline instead.
  Reply With Quote
Old October 25th, 2005, 08:40 AM   #10
chrisrixon
Junior Member
Verified Customer
 
chrisrixon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 22
Question Re: Using vBadvanced Gallery with NOT pictures

Ok thanks for that.

One final question. Presumably I install vB 3.5, get that up and running and then stick on vBaG ?

Ta Chris.
chrisrixon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 25th, 2005, 08:51 AM   #11
Brian
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Using vBadvanced Gallery with NOT pictures

Yes, you would need to install vBulletin first, and then vBa Gallery.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 17th, 2006, 08:11 PM   #12
elyk
Member
Verified Customer
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: British Columbia, Ca
Posts: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian
Yes, though there is a hack released here that will allow you to play them inline instead.
Wondering where I could find this if its still here?
elyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 17th, 2006, 08:24 PM   #13
Zachariah
Registered User
 
Zachariah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Canoga Park, CA
Posts: 3,244
Send a message via ICQ to Zachariah Send a message via AIM to Zachariah Send a message via MSN to Zachariah Send a message via Skype™ to Zachariah
VB 3.0 - 3.5.3
http://www.photopost.com/forum/showthread.php?t=118781
Zachariah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 18th, 2006, 01:12 AM   #14
elyk
Member
Verified Customer
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: British Columbia, Ca
Posts: 59
Thanks very much!
elyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
To Buy vBadvanced Gallery - Must Also Use vBAdvanced CMS? ekernel Before You Buy 3 October 26th, 2005 10:38 PM
PP and vBadvanced Gallery imported_attroll Before You Buy 1 October 6th, 2005 01:07 PM
vBadvanced Gallery vs. Other LEAD_WEIGHT Before You Buy 4 April 17th, 2005 01:16 PM
Modifying vbadvanced gallery stitch Before You Buy 24 February 10th, 2005 02:28 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:08 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.