Gotta love simple mistakes like that. If you'll look in your gallery_global.php file for this code:
Content visible to verified customers only.
And remove the '!' mark from the front of there then that should solve the problem of people still being able to see the gallery.
What page(s) exactly do you not see that notice at the top of?