PhotoPost Photo Gallery Sales PhotoPost Sales Toll Free Phone Number
Mon-Fri 9am-4pm EST
  PhotoPost Photo Sharing Photo Gallery    Visualize community tm
| | | | | | | | |

Go Back   PhotoPost Community > General Forums > Before You Buy

Before You Buy Have questions about PhotoPost, ReviewPost and/or PhotoPost Classifieds before you buy?

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old September 21st, 2005, 09:05 AM   #1
happyboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6
Question % completed during upload.

I was wondering if you guys had a % completed when uploading. I have used programs before but I dont want to use them because they dont have a % completed while uploading.

I would like to host large video files. Is there anyway to have this added to PhotoPost before I pay for yet another photo software without this function?

Thanks
happyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 21st, 2005, 10:23 AM   #2
Michael P
PhotoPost Developer
Verified Customer
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 11,833
This isn't something easily done across all platforms - in fact, I do not know of a way to do this on all platforms (might be possible via Java, but haven't seen it done).

In general, the server doesn't know the size of the file it is getting, so to put up a percentage would require something that "talks" between the client and the server during the upload process.
__________________
Please do not PM me for support or sales questions. Thank you for your understanding.
Michael P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 21st, 2005, 11:12 AM   #3
happyboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6
ah.. I have seen java scripts that do that. You have to place them into the cgi-bin. Alright thats cool. HAve you guys ever thought about that? Hotscripts source has some free scripts that do that. Maybe you can get some ideas and flow with that.

Anyways. Thanks
happyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 21st, 2005, 11:21 AM   #4
Michael P
PhotoPost Developer
Verified Customer
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 11,833
None of the ones I looked at would support all of our server configurations; so we couldn't offer it.
__________________
Please do not PM me for support or sales questions. Thank you for your understanding.
Michael P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 22nd, 2005, 02:19 AM   #5
happyboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6
Michael I did some looking maybe you might see something. *Fingers Crossed*

Pure HTML upload % with two asp script and one javascript function:

http://www.websupergoo.com/helpuploa...ressupload.htm
happyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 22nd, 2005, 08:16 AM   #6
Michael P
PhotoPost Developer
Verified Customer
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 11,833
ASP requires a Microsoft server; the majority of our customers do not use Microsoft.
__________________
Please do not PM me for support or sales questions. Thank you for your understanding.
Michael P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 22nd, 2005, 08:17 AM   #7
happyboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6


Well. Okay. Thanks.
happyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 22nd, 2005, 08:24 AM   #8
Chuck S
Photopost Developer
Verified Customer
 
Chuck S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Abingdon,MD
Posts: 75,559
Yep always the issue when writing software. We need to cater to Linux Microsoft and Mac although the majority of our users are Linux. So any feature we write into our program has to be able to be used by all 3 operating systems.
__________________
Photopost Developer and Support Engineer

Please do not PM me for support or sales questions. Thank you for your understanding.
Chuck S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 22nd, 2005, 08:30 AM   #9
happyboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6
Could I pay to have the mod wrote for my linux server and place the files in cgi? Or however I would have to do it without running a extra service?
happyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 22nd, 2005, 08:36 AM   #10
Michael P
PhotoPost Developer
Verified Customer
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 11,833
Microsoft has ASP extensions which are not available on other operating systems; so it's not something that "ports" to other platforms. I'm not sure if the code contained in those scripts can be ported to PHP.
__________________
Please do not PM me for support or sales questions. Thank you for your understanding.
Michael P is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:45 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.