PhotoPost Photo Gallery Sales PhotoPost Sales Toll Free Phone Number
Mon-Fri 9am-4pm EST
  PhotoPost Photo Sharing Photo Gallery    Visualize community tm
| | | | | | | | |

Go Back   PhotoPost Community > General Forums > General Discussion

General Discussion General use discussion forum for PhotoPost products.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old February 23rd, 2005, 09:26 AM   #1
pgowder
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 516
Cookie Issues with vB3

Several users are complaining that they have to re-login when they go to PhotoPost from vBulletin. What causes that? How can I correct it.

Thanks
pgowder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 23rd, 2005, 10:57 AM   #2
Chuck S
Photopost Developer
Verified Customer
 
Chuck S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Abingdon,MD
Posts: 75,117
I would say cookies without a doubt

Your photopost cookie domain cookie prefix and path must match VB and they need to be installed on the same domain

Your vb license number must also be entered correctly in the config not customer number

These are the two most overlooked things in any install.

Usually this works

cookie domain blank
cookie prefix bb
cookie path /

but you need to check your specific settings
__________________
Photopost Developer and Support Engineer

Please do not PM me for support or sales questions. Thank you for your understanding.
Chuck S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 23rd, 2005, 01:00 PM   #3
pgowder
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 516
Thanks, I'll try those settings.
pgowder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 3rd, 2005, 01:41 PM   #4
pgowder
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 516
Still having some issues. If you log in through vB you can go into photopost and be logged in. But if you try to login through photopost, it won't log you in.

Can someone try and give me some suggestions?

guest
guest!

Thanks
pgowder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 3rd, 2005, 03:23 PM   #5
Chuck S
Photopost Developer
Verified Customer
 
Chuck S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Abingdon,MD
Posts: 75,117
whats the error you get?
__________________
Photopost Developer and Support Engineer

Please do not PM me for support or sales questions. Thank you for your understanding.
Chuck S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 3rd, 2005, 03:24 PM   #6
pgowder
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 516
No error, it just goes back to the main page--not logged in.
pgowder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 3rd, 2005, 03:28 PM   #7
Chuck S
Photopost Developer
Verified Customer
 
Chuck S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Abingdon,MD
Posts: 75,117
COOKIES!

However we have taken away the need for this to be entered for VB with PP5 so you might want to update
__________________
Photopost Developer and Support Engineer

Please do not PM me for support or sales questions. Thank you for your understanding.
Chuck S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 3rd, 2005, 03:31 PM   #8
pgowder
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 516
Will do, thanks.
pgowder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 3rd, 2005, 04:17 PM   #9
nexia
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 83
(in all old versions, because PP is the only one to be up-to-date) ...

the best shot you can have is to set these in both tools

cookie domain
cookie prefix
cookie path

... do the same entries in vBulletin AND Photopost tools... all (reviews and classifieds too)...

cookies are reading the domain and the prefix, so if you don't set them, there are missreads... if you set the same on both systems, it's impossible to have errors!
nexia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 5th, 2005, 07:45 PM   #10
pgowder
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 516
Ok, I"m on 5.0 now and still having problems.

vB3 settings
path = /
domain = .powwows.com
prefix = bb

photopost
path = /
domain = .powwows.com
prefix = bb

Last edited by pgowder; March 5th, 2005 at 07:50 PM.
pgowder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 5th, 2005, 07:57 PM   #11
Chuck S
Photopost Developer
Verified Customer
 
Chuck S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Abingdon,MD
Posts: 75,117
what is your vb license number thats entered in the photopost config? is this the license number or have you put your vb customer number.

This is definately cookies

If you choose to put a link to your site and pm me a login I can tell you exactly which it is
__________________
Photopost Developer and Support Engineer

Please do not PM me for support or sales questions. Thank you for your understanding.
Chuck S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 5th, 2005, 07:58 PM   #12
pgowder
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 516
forum
www.powwows.com/gathering

photopost
www.powwows.com/galleries

guest
guest!

Thanks!
pgowder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 5th, 2005, 08:04 PM   #13
Chuck S
Photopost Developer
Verified Customer
 
Chuck S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Abingdon,MD
Posts: 75,117
How do members say they have issue with being logged out?

I clicked many many links and have a perfect login with photopost and VB3 went back and forth and all around

Now your classifieds is a different story You might want to look at that one. I think your users would need to give you more concrete examples.
__________________
Photopost Developer and Support Engineer

Please do not PM me for support or sales questions. Thank you for your understanding.
Chuck S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 5th, 2005, 08:05 PM   #14
pgowder
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 516
I have problems with it. If I'm logged out and go to photopost first, I can't login. Try that and let me know what happens for you.

Thanks
pgowder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 5th, 2005, 08:06 PM   #15
Chuck S
Photopost Developer
Verified Customer
 
Chuck S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Abingdon,MD
Posts: 75,117
Just a thought to check.

If you have custom usergroups in VB3 and you have not imported them into Photopost usergroup table you would want to resync usergroups
__________________
Photopost Developer and Support Engineer

Please do not PM me for support or sales questions. Thank you for your understanding.
Chuck S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 5th, 2005, 08:07 PM   #16
pgowder
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 516
And I've changed the settings in classifieds to match the other 2. Do you stilll have trouble with it?
pgowder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 5th, 2005, 08:08 PM   #17
pgowder
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 516
Neither vB or photopost seem to be keeping me logged in right now either. If I close the broswer and go back to photopost, I'm logged out??
pgowder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 5th, 2005, 08:22 PM   #18
Chuck S
Photopost Developer
Verified Customer
 
Chuck S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Abingdon,MD
Posts: 75,117
Have you upgraded vb recently from vb2 and forgot to tell Photopost it was vb3?

I get this is logging in through the gallery. Only time I see this is when someone has it set to vb2 not vb3 or changed databases and not told Photopost the new vb3 database location.

Invalid login. Please check your username and password, or register.

Something is definately amiss in the settings. You can PM me an admin login if you choose.

Yes classifieds is still not set right. I wonder how much of this is caused by the use of the third party application AMEMBER.
__________________
Photopost Developer and Support Engineer

Please do not PM me for support or sales questions. Thank you for your understanding.

Last edited by Chuck S; March 5th, 2005 at 08:25 PM.
Chuck S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 5th, 2005, 08:24 PM   #19
pgowder
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 516
No, I've been on vB3 for months.

I'll pm you some info.

Thanks
pgowder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 5th, 2005, 09:05 PM   #20
Chuck S
Photopost Developer
Verified Customer
 
Chuck S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Abingdon,MD
Posts: 75,117
Yep VB3 customer number entered where the license number should be just update it to your license in photopost and classifieds and it should be okay
__________________
Photopost Developer and Support Engineer

Please do not PM me for support or sales questions. Thank you for your understanding.
Chuck S is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
vb3 cookie userid not set unless 'remember me'? DavidMacLean General Discussion 5 June 22nd, 2004 10:11 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:48 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.