PhotoPost Photo Gallery Sales PhotoPost Sales Toll Free Phone Number
Mon-Fri 9am-4pm EST
  PhotoPost Photo Sharing Photo Gallery    Visualize community tm
| | | | | | | | |

Go Back   PhotoPost Community > General Forums > General Discussion

General Discussion General use discussion forum for PhotoPost products.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old February 6th, 2005, 07:03 AM   #1
nexia
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 83
Zip Code integration, for Canada too...

Hi, i see in an old post at photopostdev.com where you took your zipcode database for the USA, and i see on their site that they made available a database of zip codes from Canada...
http://www.zip-codes-latitude-longit...uct=DataCanada

i'd be very happy to see this Zip Codes for Canada integrated in the next version of all your softwares, when possible... i know the database cost something, so i'd like to know if you have intentions of making some changes to the db to permit sur change ?!

codes in Canada are like "x1x-1x1" ... not "12345" like in the US!

thanks!
note: the Commercial redistribution license is 500$!
nexia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 6th, 2005, 07:43 AM   #2
Chuck S
Photopost Developer
Verified Customer
 
Chuck S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Abingdon,MD
Posts: 75,205
Well in our new classifieds Michael actually found and included a FREE US zipcode database. Thats the main reason the US zipcode thing on the hack site was never included in our software as it was a pay zipcode thing.

If you find a free one of canada I dont think it would be an issue to include it in our product but if its a pay thing then most likely something like this will most likely always be a modification posted on the hack site http://www.photopostdev.com
__________________
Photopost Developer and Support Engineer

Please do not PM me for support or sales questions. Thank you for your understanding.
Chuck S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 7th, 2005, 07:24 AM   #3
nexia
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 83
the problem here is that when you suggest to provide some resource, you don't give a hint on what to provide, and on what form...

first, where did you take the zip code database for the USA, so maybe we can find the same for the Canada... and second, there is changes to be made to the system to be able to use these zips from canada, or other places that use alpha && digits...
nexia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 7th, 2005, 09:11 AM   #4
Chuck S
Photopost Developer
Verified Customer
 
Chuck S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Abingdon,MD
Posts: 75,205
This is a general discussion thread not a how to thread. I merely outlined the fact that if we found a free distribution we could look into incorporating it.

The distance is calculated from what I see using latitude longitude measurements
__________________
Photopost Developer and Support Engineer

Please do not PM me for support or sales questions. Thank you for your understanding.
Chuck S is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Zip Code Does Not Work joe4 Before You Buy 2 December 22nd, 2004 03:23 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:48 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.