PhotoPost Photo Gallery Sales PhotoPost Sales Toll Free Phone Number
Mon-Fri 9am-4pm EST
  PhotoPost Photo Sharing Photo Gallery    Visualize community tm
| | | | | | | | |

Go Back   PhotoPost Community > General Forums > Before You Buy

Before You Buy Have questions about PhotoPost, ReviewPost and/or PhotoPost Classifieds before you buy?

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old September 15th, 2004, 09:16 AM   #1
Peekay
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 10
Question Classifieds: Customising user input?

Hi. Very impressed with the PhotoPost Classifieds demo. We would however like to use it to present articles/posts that would not have an expiration date. Can we remove the "How long do you want your ad to run" option from the data entry screen and have items displayed permanently (or until a moderator removes them)?

I would be interested to know how much the data entry screen can be customised?. We would like to have two free-form text fields, e.g. "List of items" and 'Description" plus the single line text fields. Can this be done by ourselves, or would this require a custom modification?

We would also like to change some of the terminology. For example, could I change "Add to Watch List" to "Add to Favourites" and rename the title on the watch list screen?
Peekay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2004, 11:06 AM   #2
Michael P
PhotoPost Developer
Verified Customer
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 11,833
You could simply not run the cronjob which expires ads to prevent anything from being removed.

There are 6 "extra" fields which can be used for customized text input - those are a feature of the product which don't require any code modifiction.

The wording is handing in language files which can be easily modified to suit your needs.
__________________
Please do not PM me for support or sales questions. Thank you for your understanding.
Michael P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2004, 12:16 PM   #3
Peekay
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 10
Many thanks. Can any of the 'extra' fields be configured as a text entry field - i.e., could we present two multi-line text entry fields on this screen?
Peekay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2004, 12:26 PM   #4
Michael P
PhotoPost Developer
Verified Customer
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 11,833
You could slightly modify the template to use a textarea instead of a text field so that you could have more lines.
__________________
Please do not PM me for support or sales questions. Thank you for your understanding.
Michael P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2004, 12:28 PM   #5
Peekay
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 10
Templates are PHP?
Peekay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2004, 12:32 PM   #6
Michael P
PhotoPost Developer
Verified Customer
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 11,833
Mostly HTML, but some PHP, yes.
__________________
Please do not PM me for support or sales questions. Thank you for your understanding.
Michael P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2004, 12:37 PM   #7
Peekay
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 10
That's great. THX
Peekay is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Customising Photopost Classifieds gimbli Before You Buy 1 April 10th, 2005 05:33 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:37 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.