PhotoPost Photo Gallery Sales PhotoPost Sales Toll Free Phone Number
Mon-Fri 9am-4pm EST
  PhotoPost Photo Sharing Photo Gallery    Visualize community tm
| | | | | | | | |

Go Back   PhotoPost Community > General Forums > Before You Buy

Before You Buy Have questions about PhotoPost, ReviewPost and/or PhotoPost Classifieds before you buy?

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old August 8th, 2004, 02:42 PM   #1
cleck673
Junior Member
Verified Customer
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 16
2 vbulletin sites, 2 reviewpost installs, 1 database?

I want to share the database between two vbulletin 3.0 sites. I would be using the sites user databases. Can this be done?
cleck673 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 8th, 2004, 02:57 PM   #2
Chuck S
Photopost Developer
Verified Customer
 
Chuck S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Abingdon,MD
Posts: 75,342
All the domains would need to be on the same server.
__________________
Photopost Developer and Support Engineer

Please do not PM me for support or sales questions. Thank you for your understanding.
Chuck S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 8th, 2004, 02:59 PM   #3
cleck673
Junior Member
Verified Customer
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 16
That would be no problem. I would need 2 licenses? Would there be any hacking needed?
cleck673 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 8th, 2004, 03:00 PM   #4
cleck673
Junior Member
Verified Customer
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 16
Well...the domains are on the same server and the sql databases are on another....
cleck673 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 8th, 2004, 03:12 PM   #5
Chuck S
Photopost Developer
Verified Customer
 
Chuck S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Abingdon,MD
Posts: 75,342
Yes but did you not say you have 2 licenses already? Yes one license per domain does not matter if you intent to use the same database or not.

Now no hacking involved. You would install one copy the normal way except one thing. The other one would be a clone except both installs would have the data and upload paths to one of the installs. Otherwise the URL paths would all be like this

/reviewpost

instead of

http://www.domain.com/reviewpost
__________________
Photopost Developer and Support Engineer

Please do not PM me for support or sales questions. Thank you for your understanding.
Chuck S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 8th, 2004, 03:24 PM   #6
cleck673
Junior Member
Verified Customer
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 16
Thanks. Once I get the 1st one up and running the way I want, http://www.ipaqhq.com/ureviews, I will buy the second license for Aximsite.com and get that going. (Eventually, all my vbulletin sites will be one site anyway, but for now...)
cleck673 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2004, 02:25 AM   #7
cleck673
Junior Member
Verified Customer
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 16
before I purchase this second license, I want to confirm that it will work the way I want.... Thanks

1. Will domainX and domainY share the same database.
2. Can domainX and domainY each use their own user database (if so, how does it work?)
3. Can domainX and domainY each use their own templates from the forums.

I want it to look like separate instances, but share the same products. Thanks!
cleck673 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2004, 08:41 AM   #8
Michael P
PhotoPost Developer
Verified Customer
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 11,833
Yes, you can do this. I did a similiar thing for two sites - one was a paysite, the other a free site. Both had their own look, but shared the same database for content. You will probably have to use the global override feature which allows you to override database settings for the second install, but its a part of PhotoPost and I'd be glad to help you with the syntax.
__________________
Please do not PM me for support or sales questions. Thank you for your understanding.
Michael P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2004, 10:16 PM   #9
cleck673
Junior Member
Verified Customer
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 16
Thanks. I just purchased the additional license and I will try to figure it out.... if I need help, post here? Thanks!
cleck673 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2004, 11:47 PM   #10
Michael P
PhotoPost Developer
Verified Customer
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 11,833
Post in the Installs area and we'll help out.
__________________
Please do not PM me for support or sales questions. Thank you for your understanding.
Michael P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 14th, 2004, 09:50 PM   #11
cleck673
Junior Member
Verified Customer
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 16
Added a question in the install area now. Thanks.
cleck673 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Reviewpost + vbulletin 3.5 mindcry Before You Buy 2 October 13th, 2005 06:20 PM
Want to go from standalone to Vbulletin in Reviewpost? Chuck S Photopost Pro Import Scripts 0 August 30th, 2005 11:06 AM
Reviewpost Sites iKwak Before You Buy 1 August 26th, 2004 08:39 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:28 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.