Photo edit > Select new image or leave blank to use current one
When an image is replaced, the pic filename doesn't change to new pic filename. (though the old filename does indeed point to the new image)
One reason for selecting a new image is to replace an image with a better quality similar image.
A more common usage is
- to correct the sequence of a group of uploaded photos in a category.
Ie, if 7 sequential photos were uploaded in the order 1,2,3,5,4,6,7
... we can replace image 5 with image 4 and image 4 with image 5 to rectify this mistake.
- to replace an incorrect photo mistakenly uploaded within a group of photos.
The 'problem' occurs when the replaced image is a different image, and if a description is used for the jpeg filename, it doesn't represent the correct image filename showing in the ubb field or Linked image field.
For example, to illustrate, if image: me_and_fido_at_beach.jpeg is replaced with image: me_and_wife_at_beach.jpeg ...
... the image filename still shows as me_and_fido_at_beach.jpeg