PDA

View Full Version : New PhotoPost Pro Installation


Jknights
June 2nd, 2012, 06:25 AM
Hello,
We have just had a new PPP installation on our forum and I need to do some customisations but I cant see the options I want.

1. I want to make it so that if a user clicks on an image then it is shown at 1024 x 768 window either portrait of landscape. Or in fact I want the maximum pixel size to be shown as 1024pixels (longest side of image).


2. I want to set up a category/album that is open to all members to post into and also for them to be able to vote (once only) on individual images.
Voting results are hidden until after a certain date at which point the voting is closed and the anonymous votes exposed against each image.
Is this possible ?


3. How do I get the < and > (marked in red) to move from being on the image to be either side of the image (marked in green). See image below.


I would be really appreciative of any help with these customisations.
Thanks.

Jknights
June 2nd, 2012, 07:00 AM
Regarding item 1 what I want to be able to do is shown in one of the example galleries.
It is shown in one of the demo albums but I cant paste a url link to it as I have less than 15 posts currently.

Then you click on image and the image is shown in a popup window.

Jknights
June 2nd, 2012, 07:01 AM
The gallery is the Dakis one.

Chuck S
June 2nd, 2012, 10:47 AM
Well it is hard to remember every single option since there is alot but let me explain how I think you mean and you can clarify.

1. Our program is not going to change the orientation of an image that would not be something any program I know of does as orientation affects the aspect ratio. The photo is going to be whatever orientation it is.

You can definately click an image and the large popup appear.

023 - My Photo Gallery (http://nikon-dslr.net/photos/showphoto.php?photo=175&title=023&cat=509)

The problem is all photos you have uploaded are smaller than your medium trigger of 600. I changed your max image dimensions down to 1024 for you. If you want to click an image to see the large there has to be a large image meaning it has to be over your medium threshold so a medium is created.

2. You can create a category under admin edit categories and set the rating type to vote versus rating and you can then view your category to set the voting options. At present I show you have created not one category yet. You seem to have mastered the notion of personal albums but again personal albums are just your albums not for other people to upload to. ;)

3. I can remove those arrows they are something new they can not be shown outside the window not without recoding anything and support does not cover code alterations.

Jknights
June 2nd, 2012, 12:13 PM
Thanks Chuck.
I can live with item 3 as it is not a big deal as it disappears if I can get teh Window Pop to work.

The other answers I will need to test to see if I understand how to do it.

Thanks.

Chuck S
June 2nd, 2012, 12:39 PM
Yeah like I said if there is a large image it will popup the problem I saw is all the images your uploading are like 450x325 or so which means they are all under the medium threshold of 600 you have set so there is no large image the main image is what your uploading.

Here is an example so you understand

DSC_0082a - My Photo Gallery (http://nikon-dslr.net/photos/showphoto.php?photo=170&title=dsc-0082a&cat=503)

Look at the picture you uploaded it is like 319x480 pixels. Therefore there is no medium image so there can be no large image to popup. Your photo you uploaded is the only image there except the thumbnail.

How things work are like this. You upload a photo most people nowadays that photo may be 3264x2448 or larger if taken with a digital camera.

So what happens if if you upload an image the image will be resized down to the max dimensions you specify in upload options which for you is 1024 either width or height. Now if the image is also over the medium threshold for you this is 600 a medium is created.

Therefore based on your thresholds the right images are created. So if you continue to upload photos smaller than 600 pixels the only thing your going to see if that image and a thumbnail.

Jknights
June 2nd, 2012, 01:33 PM
OK I think I understand that.
I need to upload larger sized images.

Thanks

Jknights
June 2nd, 2012, 03:15 PM
Chuck, I have managed to do as you suggested and the pop window now works.

One more question.
Is it possible to have a hot link/button on the top that says Go to Forum that has a link behind it that takes the user to the Nikon-DSLR forum (nikon-dslr.net)


Thanks

Jknights
June 2nd, 2012, 03:55 PM
The button could alternatively be named Forum Home as opposed to the gallery Home button.

I'll leave the change to you or better yet if you can tell me how/where to do these customisations.

Chuck S
June 2nd, 2012, 05:51 PM
Johnathon

You can place whatever header you wish over the gallery.

I edited your header and footers of the gallery under admin edit header and edit footer to show you where to put the html you wish for any entry.

Your forum seems broke so not sure what html your looking to carry over to the gallery but in the header is where you can make a global site menubar kind of like what we do here on our very own company site. That is what most people do.

Jknights
June 3rd, 2012, 04:48 AM
All seems to be working fine at present.

Getting users on board so we can have more albums to test against and check out features.

I am sure we will want to do some enhancements/tweaks to the gallery but that will come over time rather than all at once.

Chuck S
June 3rd, 2012, 07:14 AM
I was referring to the fact your forum seems broken and still is so not sure how all is fine. Yes all is fine with your gallery I guess but the rest of your site is down. Do you not see this?


Call to undefined function main_menu() in /home/nikondsl/public_html/lib.php on line 2809

Jknights
June 3rd, 2012, 12:29 PM
No I am not seeing that error at all.
Very strange how did you get it. What link did you click on ?

Chuck S
June 3rd, 2012, 12:35 PM
Nikon DSLR Forums (http://nikon-dslr.net)

Thats the error I see when I visit your site which I think is your forum. I see the gallery with no problem.

Jknights
June 3rd, 2012, 12:58 PM
Hmmm. I dont know.
I dont see that when I am logged in and neither if I login as an ordinary user or am not logged in at all.

What browser are you using ?

Chuck S
June 3rd, 2012, 01:24 PM
Mozilla Firefox

I do have the site right as I can see your gallery but for some reason the main page I see that error.

If I log out the error goes away and the login I have is an admin login

Jknights
June 3rd, 2012, 02:20 PM
I'm also on Mozilla v12 on Mac.

Yes I have just been checking the site out.
Another question but I need to send urls!!
Only four more posts and life becomes easier ;-)

Jknights
June 3rd, 2012, 02:22 PM
If you look at the urls for the top of the following albums from these users then my one and judith's one are different format to the other 3 users.

Username:
jk
judith
Ralph G Speer
Robert
Squarerigger

Jknights
June 3rd, 2012, 02:24 PM
Is there a way to move an album into another album to form a sub-album ?
I would like to change my current album layout to be a set of nested albums.

Jknights
June 3rd, 2012, 02:25 PM
Ok found out how to do the nesting!
One more post and I can send the urls.

Jknights
June 3rd, 2012, 02:26 PM
Ok this is the 15th post to get me past the limit.

Jknights
June 3rd, 2012, 02:27 PM
These links take you to different users galleries.
user jk Member Profile - My Photo Gallery (http://nikon-dslr.net/photos/member.php?uid=2&username=jk)
user judith Judith Gallery - My Photo Gallery (http://nikon-dslr.net/photos/showgallery.php?ppuser=48&username=judith)
user Robert Robert Gallery - My Photo Gallery (http://nikon-dslr.net/photos/showgallery.php?cat=500&ppuser=4)
user Squarerigger Squarerigger Gallery - My Photo Gallery (http://nikon-dslr.net/photos/showgallery.php?cat=500&ppuser=12)
user Ralph G Speer Ralph G Speer Gallery - My Photo Gallery (http://nikon-dslr.net/photos/showgallery.php?cat=500&ppuser=18)


The top two urls are different for some reason to the others.


These links take you to different users galleries.
user jk http://nikon-dslr.net/photos/member.php?uid=2&username=jk
user judith http://nikon-dslr.net/photos/showgallery.php?ppuser=48&username=judith
user Robert http://nikon-dslr.net/photos/showgallery.php?cat=500&ppuser=4
user Squarerigger http://nikon-dslr.net/photos/showgallery.php?cat=500&ppuser=12
user Ralph G Speer http://nikon-dslr.net/photos/showgallery.php?cat=500&ppuser=18

The top two urls are different for some reason to the others.



Can you explain how/why the urls are different for the top two users.
Thanks

Chuck S
June 3rd, 2012, 06:34 PM
well the bottom 3 urls are normal user gallery links.

The first url is not a members gallery link it is there profile page.

The second url how are you get from clicking there actual user url in the breadcrumb

If I look at your members gallery all the members gallery links are the same

http://nikon-dslr.net/photos/showmembers.php?cat=500

Jknights
June 4th, 2012, 03:31 AM
But the link to my personal gallery is
jk Gallery - My Photo Gallery (http://nikon-dslr.net/photos/showgallery.php?cat=500&ppuser=2)
So yes all is good. ;-)
That seems to close of the getting to the gallery problems.


Next question is how do I get the image EXIF details to be displayed.
I have it set in the Admin Options to be Yes so EXIF extracted and shown but I cant see it against images.
This is an important feature for us.

Also please can you load this file into the header of the Gallery.

Chuck S
June 4th, 2012, 08:02 AM
well the real question there is do you have jhead installed on your server. Much like Imagemagick to process images jhead extracts exif.

If you have a functional jhead on your server you can set the proper server path to it in global options and try seeing if exif is extracted.

Jknights
June 4th, 2012, 03:24 PM
Hi Chuck,
No jhead installed AFAIK.
Is it freeware ?
Is it something you can install for me so it works for the gallery?.

Chuck S
June 4th, 2012, 03:51 PM
You would need ssh access to install jhead

There is a code mod that may help if you have exif installed as part of PHP

http://www.photopost.com/forum/1252989-post28.html

I have altered your code to use php's exif and this seems to help you alot see the show exif link

Say's Phoebe - My Photo Gallery (http://nikon-dslr.net/photos/showphoto.php?photo=253&title=say-s-phoebe&cat=533)

Jknights
June 4th, 2012, 04:49 PM
No I cant see any EXIF.
But I can see a link that says Show EXIF but clicking on it provides nothing.

There should be full EXIF with images in my album.
D800 test images - My Photo Gallery (http://nikon-dslr.net/photos/showgallery.php?cat=516)

Please can you install jhead for me. You have the Admin login details.

Also please can you load the logo file that I attached to post 24.


Thanks. I think we are nearly there with the customisations ;-)

Chuck S
June 4th, 2012, 05:26 PM
well you have a problem with the ajax when you click show exif the exif info is suppose to display under the photo I can make it so that it shows all the time.

Jknights
June 5th, 2012, 02:34 AM
Well what ever you have done the EXIF is working now.
Thank you very much.

Jknights
June 5th, 2012, 02:35 AM
Last item now is the Gallery header banner logo was not there but when I looked I saw that there was a comma in the logo name so that now works.


Thanks very much for all you help over the last few days.
I think that we need to start using the PPP in serious mode now.
That way we get to see its real power and get to understand if we need to do any more customisations.

Chuck S
June 5th, 2012, 08:33 AM
enjoy have fun with it.

Jknights
June 5th, 2012, 08:52 AM
I think we will do. :-)

It has been really good to have somebody like you to help set it up.
Thanks very much for everything.

Chuck S
June 5th, 2012, 10:02 AM
No problem glad to help.

Jknights
June 5th, 2012, 12:14 PM
Just spotted an anomaly in the gallery.

There is a link/command to 'Show EXIF', It doesn't DO anything. The EXIF is on permanently, it needs a command to turn it off/on as well, the EXIF is more dominant than the image.

We do need the EXIF to understand the image but given it's so complete and dominant we need to be able to turn it off as well.

Is there some way to specify the fields displayed ?

We only need camera, focal length, aperture and shutter speed and possibly date of image. Most of the other data is of no/little interest to anyone.



If necessary we will need to take all EXIF data but it needs to be able to be Off most of the time but then if a member wants to see an image EXIF he/she should be able to click on Show Exif link then this should change to Hide EXIF when the EXIF is visible.

Chuck S
June 5th, 2012, 01:39 PM
I believe I commented on this above.

The way the exif info works is best shown here

DSCN0699 - ReefTalk Gallery (http://www.reeftalk.com/gallery/family-pics/p1559-dscn0699.html)

You click the link and it expands.

The problem as I see and commented above is your site is not listening to the ajax command and I stated I edited your template to make it appear which means it is on all the time.

I will see if I can find out why your ajax does not work but that will take time as I can not replicate that anywhere.

Jknights
June 5th, 2012, 05:22 PM
Thanks Chuck.
You obviously understand way better than I do and so are better placed to advise what needs doing and if necessary then I will support all actions to fix. If you think that Jim Hale at Data1 Systems needs to be involved then please email him or me so we can get to the bottom of this.

Chuck S
June 5th, 2012, 06:42 PM
No problem by the way if you want me to look at jhead I need you to send me your cpanel info so I can verify whether it can be installed. I need to track and find out if using the PHP exif is what is causing your exif ajax not to work.

Jknights
June 6th, 2012, 02:23 AM
CPanel info sent in email.
Thanks

Jknights
June 6th, 2012, 06:41 AM
Chuck we seem to have lost the Forums link that took us back to discussion forums.
:-(

Please can you restore ASAP as it makes life so much easier.

Chuck S
June 6th, 2012, 08:44 AM
You can not install jhead as you do not have shell access on your account. I will have to continue investigating my all your ajax features work exept ajax but the problem is my hypothesis is that ajax can not transport the sheer number of info that php's exif is bringing back over what jhead brings back

Just a thought

Jknights
June 6th, 2012, 09:22 AM
Well done.
EXIF and Forum link all working well.

Thanks

Chuck S
June 6th, 2012, 09:59 AM
No Problem

Robert-NikonDSLR
June 8th, 2012, 02:16 PM
Hi, I am Robert from the same forum as Jonathan (JKnights) I am a founding member and Mod of the Nikon-DSLR forum.

I have a couple of questions regarding the PP Gallery we recently installed. Is it OK to ask here or should I start a new Topic?

Chuck S
June 8th, 2012, 02:31 PM
what is your question? I can answer a question.

Robert-NikonDSLR
June 8th, 2012, 02:42 PM
The first question is, on the image upload screen near the bottom there is the facility to upload all images from a URL.

Does this mean I can specify a folder on my local host (an external Firewire drive on my Mac) and upload the contents?

I have tried many forms of syntax but as yet no success, although the Gallery software goes through the motions of uploading and reports a successful upload. No images were actually uploaded.

If it is possible please will you tell me the correct syntax for the URL Path.

Chuck S
June 8th, 2012, 02:59 PM
No what that means is you can enter a url to some page and we can attempt to strip any images on that page that can be found in img tags.

Robert-NikonDSLR
June 8th, 2012, 03:23 PM
OK, Thanks I will stop banging my head on THAT wall :)



Right, Question number two...

I have uploaded ten images to a sub Album. They are named and ordered "Deer A" - "Deer B" etc. I need them in that order and have uploaded them in that order.

The images are a sequence of photographs I took and I need to display them in that order in my (sub) Album.

I find they appear to be in reverse order in the thumbnail strip under the single displayed image. The "A" image is at the right hand end and the last image is at the left hand end of the thumbnail strip (Film Strip?.

I have tried sorting them by different criteria but the result is the same. They do sort correctly in the Album view bit not in the single image view.

My expectation is the first image "A" should be at the left and the last image at the right. Am I missing something?

Chuck S
June 8th, 2012, 03:59 PM
Well you might need to talk to the site admin and see how he has things set. Personal albums are a bit different than categories. Personal albums get certain permissions from the members gallery.
Om your alb
The default sort when nothing is set is most recent which means this is how he has it set. He can choose the default sort for any category to be title or filename.

Likewise aside from that you also have the ability to set a hard coded specific sort from you album manager under the sort photos link

Robert-NikonDSLR
June 8th, 2012, 04:16 PM
Thanks Chuck, I will discuss it with JK.

Thank you for your time. :D

I do have another question but I forgot what it was! LOL

Chuck S
June 8th, 2012, 06:09 PM
No problem like I said you can set a photo by photo specific and also just checked you can set the default sort order for your album just edit the album. ;)

Jknights
July 16th, 2012, 04:54 PM
Some of the forum members have noticed that they see that there is an unregistered user browsing the forum. Since this is specifically excluded in the settings it seems to be a mis-reporting of registered users (namely the current user).

Here is how it manifests itself.

If I go to the site and login then click "My Gallery" select an album and page down, I see 1 unregisterd user browseing, but it's me. If I go to the top of the album page and click login, the unregisterd user disappears.


Chuck please can you comment.

Chuck S
July 16th, 2012, 05:00 PM
We do not have a forum really in our software so what whos online are you referring to. We have our own online script here in our gallery product like so. That reports who is doing what in the gallery product.

Who's Online - PhotoPost Photo Gallery (http://www.photopost.com/photopost/online.php)

Jknights
July 17th, 2012, 02:28 AM
We have the PhotoPost gallery integrated with the UBB forum software.
See here. Nikon DSLR Forums (http://www.nikon-dslr.net)

If you go into the Gallery section then you are sharing/using the user database from the forum. So there is no secondary login if you are already logged in on the forum.

Jknights
July 17th, 2012, 04:52 AM
The two softwares were chosen specifically as they were meant to integrate very well.

The report of the 'unregistered user' is I guess a factor of the integration being such that all the user details are derived from the forum's user database table. I guess that an additional parameter needs to passed on the transition from Forum ==> Gallery.\

When the forum and gallery (later) was setup Chuck and Jim Hale (Data1 Systems) had a discussion about the technical details. All very painless from my perspective.

Chuck S
July 17th, 2012, 08:16 AM
well like I said it all depends what your talking about. Our software has nothing to do with any online part of a forum or vice versa our scripting is not going to show any forum stuff in the gallery.

If you are integrating with the login from the forum the only integration you have between forum and gallery is just that a cookie login of the user from the forum database.

You are using the base level integration.

Jknights
July 17th, 2012, 09:17 AM
Yes indeed that is what we have.
Thanks.

Chuck S
July 17th, 2012, 09:31 AM
Yeah not a problem thats why I asked for more info. who is viewing the forum is part of the forum script and not really our application so not much I can say about that app.