PDA

View Full Version : Canadian Postal Codes?


Badger
April 21st, 2010, 04:01 PM
Looking at buying this product to replace vBClassifieds ...

Does the current version support Canadian postal codes?

Thank you ...

Regards,
Badger

Chuck S
April 21st, 2010, 05:08 PM
It will support alphanumeric zipcodes sure.

we include a US postal database so if you can find a canadian zipcode cvs and format the data in the proper row sequence you can import that right into the zipdata database.

Badger
April 21st, 2010, 05:17 PM
Will this work and integrate into your Classifieds program?

PopularData.com (http://www.populardata.com/downloads.html)

Here's the field formatting:

Free Postal Code Database - PopularData.com (http://www.populardata.com/postalcode_database.html)

Regards,
Badger

Chuck S
April 21st, 2010, 06:50 PM
Here are the fields in our zipcode database, As stated as long as you can find a zipcode cvs you can manipulate into the format of the zipData database you should be okay


CREATE TABLE zipData (
zipcode varchar(6) NOT NULL default '',
ZipCodeType char(3) NOT NULL default '',
City varchar(128) NOT NULL default '',
CityType char(3) NOT NULL default '',
State varchar(64) NOT NULL default '',
StateCode varchar(5) NOT NULL default '',
AreaCode int(5) NOT NULL default '0',
lat varchar(8) NOT NULL default '',
lon varchar(8) NOT NULL default '') ENGINE=MyISAM DEFAULT CHARSET=utf8;



That might work for you but never manipulated the data so really cant say. Provence would go into state, postalcode is zipcode

You will need to fit an empty column in your cvs where areacode data is thats not important.