PDA

View Full Version : Can I have 2 copies on same domain?


hani
August 20th, 2009, 12:20 PM
Hi
I am a verified customer (as you can see) but van not post in support forums, I dont know why.
Any way, I want to have 2 copies/licenses on my website, and using same userdatabase with VB (already doing so with no problem with one copy)
What I want to do is to have another copy with same user base, but one copy every one (registered) can post 3 images/day, no moderation needed, and in second copy, everyone can post, but only approved images will show, rest will be deleted or something.
Can this be done?
Would appreciate any help I can get

regards

Hani

Chuck S
August 20th, 2009, 12:28 PM
Hani

This should assist you in being able to post

PhotoPost Community - Announcements in Forum : Before You Buy (http://www.photopost.com/forum/before-you-buy/announcements.html)

As far as licensing. One owned license allows you to have one install on one domain so you can not install multiple copies on multiple domains or even on one domain. It is pretty much the same as your vb license you own you can only install it once. If you want to install multiple copies you need to have multiple licenses.

hani
August 20th, 2009, 12:51 PM
Hi Chuck
I have no problem with licenses (infact I already have several), but I want to make sure that the 2 copies I am installing (legally) on my domain can act differently according to different sitting for each copy.
our website is for photographers, and some people are comlaining that lots of new photos are not good enough, we care about beginners and dont want to rebel them from the hobby, so I thoght of installing another copy that will have approved photos appearing in front page, and I want to make sure that I could do thet before buying the second copy.

Chuck S
August 20th, 2009, 01:06 PM
well if you have the licenses and the other license is not running anywhere you can edit your domain for that second license to the same domain as the other one and install a second copy. Thats legal

As stated you can only run one copy on one domain per license.

If installing onto the same site you can do that and integrate both with the vb database just make sure you install the photoposts with different table prefixes so there is no conflicts.

hani
August 20th, 2009, 01:14 PM
Thanx for your help


If installing onto the same site you can do that and integrate both with the vb database just make sure you install the photoposts with different table prefixes so there is no conflicts.

That what I would do, but as I will be using same user base on VB, and user have same privilages on both galleries (G1 and G2), will I be able to control each gallery differently?
Sorry if I am not clear, but I want same users can post in both galleryes, but in G1 photos will show directly, while in G2 an admin has to approve the photo to appear.
Cn this be done?

Chuck S
August 20th, 2009, 01:20 PM
Each gallery has its own usergroup and category usergroups settings so you can set permissions in either gallery as you wish

hani
August 20th, 2009, 01:22 PM
Great
Thanx a million
I will be installing this weekend

regards

Hani

Chuck S
August 20th, 2009, 01:23 PM
Have a good one glad to help

skidpics
August 20th, 2009, 06:54 PM
What about subdomains? pp.skidpics.com, etc..

still same domain.. just another directory on that domain.

Chuck S
August 20th, 2009, 09:35 PM
You can only install one copy on one domain. subdomains are the same domain. Basically what it says is you can only install this in one place with one license.