PDA

View Full Version : Classifieds as Standalone


dan@
August 3rd, 2009, 08:13 PM
If i read the features right Photopost Classifieds can run as a standalone application. Are there any sites i can visit as an example of a standalone Classifieds? Seems like most are run with a forum. So i'm curious as how it is as a standalone. I had planned on running it with VBulletin, but if i don't have to I may not. What is gained using it with a forum, or what is given up using it as a Standalone application?

Thanks
Dan

Chuck S
August 3rd, 2009, 10:20 PM
There are examples here

PhotoPost Sites In Action (http://www.photopost.com/action)

You lose nothing running it as a standalone

The integrations basically integrate the user logins from the forum so you have a seamless login throughout the site.

dan@
August 3rd, 2009, 11:11 PM
If i use with VB do i end up running 2 Databases or does the Classified integrate with VB's?

If I decided to use with VB. Do i need to get VB up and running first or can it be added to after i have the Classifieds up and running?

Thanks for your help

dan

Chuck S
August 4th, 2009, 08:56 AM
You can put all tables into one database or two thats up to you.

vBulletin would need to be installed first if you wish to integrate with that. We do forum installs for $70.00 which is half of vbulletin charges if you are going to have them install there software.

dan@
August 4th, 2009, 08:17 PM
Is there an advantage or disadvantage to running as a single database or 2 databases? Is there going to be a speed difference?

Chuck S
August 4th, 2009, 08:27 PM
Running a separate database makes sense for bigger databases. Running the same database is good for smaller databases and sites so the speed difference depends on the size of the databases as to the time factors to access the data.

I use separate databases myself to keep size down.