PDA

View Full Version : Anyone try PP vbGallery 2.43 with vB 3.8 yet?

SilentNoise
November 18th, 2008, 10:01 AM
PhotoPost vBGallery 2.43 is the last thing on my list of things to check out before jumping to vb 3.8.

I've been running vBGallery 2.0 for ages now and thought it might be high time for an upgrade in the near future once the new board software goes gold.

So has anyone tried vbGallery 2.43 with vB 3.8 yet?

Chuck S
December 4th, 2008, 10:44 AM
I beleive one of our users luciano has stated he upgraded to 3.8 without any issues.

drslipp
December 6th, 2008, 06:21 AM
I had issues with the combination 3.8 beta2 and the recent vbgallery. I couldn´t identify the cause from my restricted technical knowledge and performed a rollback to 3.74.

I gave this combination a second chance and upgraded again from vb3.74 to vb3.8rc1 yesterday. The same issue with the gallery occurred.

As an admin I seem to be the only user, who can reply to a picture-discussion-thread. All other users are getting the following error-messages:

1. Please complete both the message- and subject-fields.
2. The message you have entered is too short. Please lengthen your message to at least 1 characters.

Furthermore, there is just a "0"-character shown up in the text-body-field. And of course the message, which was sent, was much more longer than 1 character with no "0"-character in it.

My forum has several enhancements, which were fully functional in combination with the gallery up to vb3.74pl1. After the upgrade to 3.8beta or now rc1 these same errors are rising up. Maybe it´s an issue solely related to the gallery, maybe a side-effect from other add-ons. I´m clueless.

Chuck S
December 6th, 2008, 10:58 AM
I would suggest you try a clean vbgallery and vbulletin as the users who reported no issues say its a clean install hacks can and will cause issues.

drslipp
December 6th, 2008, 02:36 PM