PDA

View Full Version : Upload limits


Brian P
May 25th, 2008, 05:53 PM
Chuck...

Aftrer uploading a largish number of JPG files I have been met with this..

Fatal error: Allowed memory size of 33554432 bytes exhausted (tried to allocate 1250 bytes) in /home/mercmzbm/public_html/gallery/image-inc.php on line 152

Is there a limit to how much I can upload at any one time?

Brian P.

Brian P
May 26th, 2008, 12:57 AM
My apologies - This was an error with my server.
I posted this far too quickly, should have thought about it first.
Brian P.

Chuck S
June 5th, 2008, 08:27 AM
Not a problem glad you got it sorted.

wingnut1
June 6th, 2008, 08:22 PM
How did you fix this please Brian? I'm getting the same error message, probably a minor teething problem after moving server.

Brian P
June 7th, 2008, 01:56 AM
Wingnut..

I haven't got rid of the problem, still looking for the answer.
It has made the Photo Gallery unusable for me as I am no longer able to upload photos to it.
Brian.

wingnut1
June 7th, 2008, 10:56 AM
Yes it's a problem for me now as well. It worked gine with Imagemagik on the old server but not with GD on the new one. For some reason we can upload small file size images up to about 700kbs each, but a single 2mb image just won't upload.

wingnut1
June 7th, 2008, 10:58 AM
BTW Brian, the man who owns the hosting company upped the php memory and that allowed images up to 700kbs, I wonder if increasing it again will help?

Brian P
June 7th, 2008, 05:07 PM
My hosting service, HostPapa.com allows for unlimited storage with no mention of limits on uploading.
I have three photos that have got stuck in the system that amount to around
240kbs - that should'nt cause any upload problems I would have thought.
My brother who is registered on the Photo Gallery has the same problem and he just tried to upload one photograph.
Beats me, can't find an answer anywhere.
Good Gallery you have there, some great machines.
Brian.

Chuck S
June 9th, 2008, 09:07 AM
http://www.photopost.com/forum/1219346-post2.html

This should assist with uploading issues and you might also want to try and downsize the max image width height parameters in admin upload options to see if this helps as well. GD2 has a issue processing larger files since it uses PHP memory and shuts PHP down when trying to process those files.

Brian P
June 9th, 2008, 10:26 AM
Chuck...

You've done it again... absolutely brilliant!

Entered those two lines of code as instructed and Bingo!

What can I say again but thank you, thank you for your interest and for your time.

Brian.

Chuck S
June 10th, 2008, 08:19 AM
Not a problem Brian glad to help let me know if there is anything else I can assist with.