PDA

View Full Version : Another Off Topic/Product: Display Error!


doc1975
January 18th, 2008, 07:01 PM
Okay, so I have zero experience when it comes to coding, but follow directions very well.

So heres the deal... I'm running vBulletin 3.6 interated with PP Classifieds and Photo Gallery. I have several mods installed as well, along wth one commercial style in used to make the site a bit more appealing.

Earlier today, I entered/copied/manipulated code to display a placer image if you will, that has my sites logo, along with the words "your banner here", on my forums home page. On the left side (sidebar) there's a block labeled "Advertisements" so this is where I placed the image. Afterwards, the "ad" displayed perfectly, along with the hyperlink attached. * No other mods, hacks, scripts or various forms of manipulation has occurred after I inserted this code.

Now the issue I'm facing is, once I got home and checked the site, the image has disappeared... completely. I have reviewed the code on the 'forumhome' template, and nothing has change since I first applied it. I have swapped it out with text, and the text displays fine.

My sites address:

http://www.reptilejunction.com/forums

This will bring you to the forum home page.

The image that should be displaying is on the left hand side of this forum homepage, under the 'Advertisements' block is (click to view image):

http://www.reptilejunction.com/banners/gen_ad_01.gif

So with that said, does anyone here have a clue as to what could have happened? This has really took me by surprise as I mentioned, no other manipulation - on my part anyways - has taken place since the code was was inserted.

Chuck S
January 19th, 2008, 10:20 AM
well look at your code for that block you have a comment out code in there like so

<a href='http://www.reptilejunction.com/forums/index.php'><!--

doc1975
January 19th, 2008, 02:09 PM
Chuck you have to excuse me, but I have no clue what you just meant by that... :confused:

Chuck S
January 19th, 2008, 08:19 PM
From what I see your code ends at the comment out code which means apparently you have commented out code <!-- and your code is surpressed from there.

I can tell you this unless you post your code here no one is going to be able to suggest what your issue is unless they see the code. ;)

doc1975
January 20th, 2008, 08:27 PM
<table width="183" border="0" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0">
<tr><td>
<img src="$stylevar[imgdir_misc]/tad.gif" border="0" alt="" class="nopm" /></td>
</tr>
<tr><td class="lftbox">
<a href='http://www.reptilejunction.com/forums/index.php'><img src='http://www.reptilejunction.com/banners/gen_ad_01.gif' width='130' height='200' alt='' title='' border='0'></a></div></td>
</tr>
<tr><td>
<img src="$stylevar[imgdir_misc]/tbot.gif" border="0" alt="" class="nopm" /></td>
</tr>
</table><br />

Above is the code that directly corresponds with my issue, hope this helps.

Chuck S
January 20th, 2008, 08:49 PM
That code looks fine so you might need to check elsewhere in vbadvanced to see what might be affecting this. I dont know too much about vbadvanced to assist with how to create blocks other than all that block needs to be is a straight html block. Looking at your html source of your page as noted there is a comment out code appearing which is affecting this. Try removing the style class calls in your td and see if that helps.

doc1975
January 20th, 2008, 11:12 PM
Not sure how relevant this is, but I did attempt to swap the image with two others for testing, and both worked. I used both the logo images found on the main (intro) page of the site, as well as the logo image located at the top left hand corner of the site, next to the navbar links. They both worked without issue... just seems not to lilke this image?

doc1975
January 21st, 2008, 09:37 AM
Okay, to mix it up even more, I have realized that I can view the image from my work pc, but it's not being displayed on my home pc? Does that help any?

Chuck S
January 21st, 2008, 11:29 AM
I would suggest looking at the image and try converting it and saving it for web with some graphics program if others work.

Chuck S
January 21st, 2008, 11:30 AM
You can also ask for assistance from vbadvanced since you are dealing with trying to display an html block on their product.

doc1975
January 21st, 2008, 11:49 AM
I have posted the question at forummonkeys.com as this is where I bought the style from. I have alos posted it at both vbadvanced & vbullentin.com. So I will see what is advised.

Chuck S
January 21st, 2008, 11:53 AM
Yeah I was just pointing out your having issues with trying to make an html block on vbadvanced which deals with their product so they would be able to assist you with their product.

doc1975
January 21st, 2008, 12:26 PM
one of the administrators that have responded to my question at vbulletin.com, has suggested clearing my cache from my home pc, as it may be pulling the website/page from the cache... just not sure what cache he's referring to, or how to clear it...

Is this the same as "temporary internet files"?

Chuck S
January 21st, 2008, 01:19 PM
Yes clear those as well as all cookies and try again. I suggest you also install and alternate browser to see if things look right

http://www.mozilla.com/en-US/firefox/

doc1975
January 21st, 2008, 01:44 PM
I thought of the additional browser last night as well, and installed it. Same results though. Once I get home, I will attempt to clear the cookies and temporary internet files, etc... and post the results then.

Chuck S
January 21st, 2008, 04:39 PM
Okay as stated you might want to get help from vbadvanced since this issue deals with some html block your setting up there.

doc1975
January 21st, 2008, 06:07 PM
Well, a member from the forummonkeys.com did suggest that my spyware/antivirus was blocking it and after changing some options it is now displaying properly... in IE that is.

Now the image is showing left of center when I view the site with firefox...

Any suggestions?

Chuck S
January 21st, 2008, 08:40 PM
check your html and style properties and make sure you have align="center" in your html or that your style class does not align things to left.