PDA

View Full Version : Suggested allocated space for usergroups

ChefTalk
January 2nd, 2007, 10:08 AM
I am new to photopost and I am incorporating this into my exisiting forums. After doing some searching I have not found anything in regards to the recommended space you should allocated your members?

I have a community of about 2,000 active members and was wondering would others are allowing their members to have?

Thanks,

Michael P
January 2nd, 2007, 10:14 AM
I've offered 5mb of space for registered users (about 100 images at 50kb) and then offered more to "supporters" of the site (those who contributed monies to support the site) at much higher levels (20mb, 100mb, 200mb, etc).

ChefTalk
January 2nd, 2007, 11:22 AM
Thanks Michael. I have currently set my moderators to 30 mb but I think I will offer the community members 5 mb as well. Would you mind sharing what you are charing for the various memberships?

Michael P
January 2nd, 2007, 12:52 PM
I don't recall offhand; I think I have one site set to $15 for 3 months of Silver; $30 for 3 months of Gold and so forth up to $250/month for Diamond which lasts 3 years.

Steve_UK
January 13th, 2007, 12:06 AM
Cheftalk,

Just as an alternative way to look at things...

Modern digital SLR photos are often about 6mb-8mb per .jpg photo. Most people into taking photos will have hundreds of those to show/share.

There seem to be more and more places where you can store gigabytes of photos for free.

Do sites that only have tiny cut down versions of photos to try and save space and bandwidth serve any real purpose? Such sites seem to be saying to their members 'take great photos with your super new camera - and then make us a special cut down version that has a lower resolution/quality than your mobile phone can produce'.... isn't that a complete waste of time.

Just an alternative way to look at things as I say.

On our site new members can upload photos up to 8mb PER PHOTO, and subscribers up to 12mb PER PHOTO.