PDA

View Full Version : Split database? PP integrating with phpbb


pengrus
November 1st, 2006, 01:20 PM
Our current setup is Photopost Pro and phpBB are in the same database. All phpBB tables have prefix of phpbb_.

The database grows pretty large now at 280MB. This makes the backup/restore more difficult. I was thinking maybe it will help if I split the database, and make them two separate databases. Is this possible and easy to do? If we split them into two databases, do we still have integration?

Thanks for your help.

Chuck S
November 1st, 2006, 05:32 PM
Easy just create a new database

Backup the photopost tables

Restore the photopost tables to the new database

Change the config-inc.php file to reflect the new photopost database connection info

Go view your Photopost site

If everything views correctly and works your safe to delete the photopost tables from the old database

pengrus
November 1st, 2006, 07:35 PM
Chuck,

If I do this, will the integration with phpbb still work? I noticed in photopost admin, it asks phpbb table pre-fix. I don't know how it the integration works with two separate database.

Thanks!
Sean

Chuck S
November 1st, 2006, 07:55 PM
yes you only update your config file on the photopost part not user database

There is a photopost database portion and then a user database portion

pengrus
November 1st, 2006, 08:02 PM
cool, I will give it a try. Thank you for explaining it to me.

pengrus
November 1st, 2006, 08:05 PM
Oh, for LARGE database, do you think we'll be better off to split them into two separate database to gain (1) speed, and (2) ease of future upgrade and maintanence?