PDA

View Full Version : Amatuer Webdesigner wants to install and use Photopost

rufenough
October 23rd, 2006, 11:29 AM
Hi all,

I only got interested in webdesign in June this year.

I subsequently purchased a programme called Xara and designed and uploaded my first ever website here www.siamfishingtours.com.

This is a commercial site aimed at generating us business. I soon learned that even though Xara created a reasonable looking site easily, it packed my scripts with garbage, and was terrible for SEO. As a result I tried to learn CSS and a bit of XHTML with a view to designing my own site from scratch which would be much more optimised for my keywords.

I now have the bones of a website that would be great if I could get it live...trouble is I need to create a forum and photo page to make the site interesting for customers and would be customers. Thats when I found Photopost.

The problem that I have is that Im a novice webdesigner with limited knowledge, and I seem to be stuck between a rock and a hard place. If I use the services of webdesigner I once again lose control over my content, but to do it myself the jargon relating to installing and running photopost is beyond me...I know nothing about PHP.

My question is...if I buy photopost with such limited knowledge will it be a pointless purchase? I sent an Email to Photopost and their response just simplified what to me are real concerns, and did not inspire me with much confidence. All they said was "Photo Post is a piece of software that sits on your server" Great!!! That enlightens me loads! Can any one help?

Sybaris
October 23rd, 2006, 11:38 AM
photopost is a photo album for your website, It gives you the ability to keep and show photos to enyone who comes to your site, You can let people join your website with it and then inturn they can upload and show their photos.