PDA

View Full Version : CGI Error


kroozah
January 16th, 2006, 11:18 AM
I've setup PhotoPost on the following platform:
Windows 2003 Web Server IIS6 with MySql, PHP, ImageMagick, phpBB2
the phpBB2 and MySql have been running great for over a year...no problems.

I've followed the install instructions, got the permissions that where out lined to function properly.

When I try to up load any pictures this is the error message I get:

"CGI Error
The specified CGI application misbehaved by not returning a complete set of HTTP headers"

Some references have been made to an IIS permissions problem...I think I've got all that setup properly and I've also allowed CGI and scripting to be run from IIS.

Any Ideas on how to resolve this..???

Site address: http://www.brevardspeed.com
http://www.brevardspeed.com/photopost

Help..!!

Chuck S
January 17th, 2006, 10:16 AM
Hello I do not show photopost installed but cgi issue on upload is most always a windows permissions thing.

http://www.brevardspeed.com/photopost/index.php

Let me know where photopost is at

kroozah
January 18th, 2006, 09:48 AM
We uninstalled it.....!!!!
We built a new server with W2K, PHP, MySql, IIS5
When we try to do the install on the new server we no longer get any CGI errors. Those errors where a result of Windows 2003 Server permissions and where to frustrating to work through. So.......

We try again, but after repeded attempts on the new server with specs out lined by your supported platform requirments it still will not properly install. Granted we no longer see any CGI errors. We actually get to the last step where it fails. I'm off site now or I would post the exact error message. The error messages deal with a parse problem in two of the php files.

We have coppermine installed, but would like to use PhotoPost...don't want to trow good money away....

How about providing a permission list for the directories in PhotoPost for IIS
converting from UNIX permission is at best confusing at times. And can create un wanted problems.

A simple permission structure and which folder / files get what, would be nice.

We do have Coppermine installed because it didn't give us the same issues PhotoPost did. They (Coppermine) also provide a permision layout for folders and files when using with IIS.

??:confused:

Chuck S
January 18th, 2006, 01:33 PM
Okay server permission translations are pretty simple. I have done many an install on windows so let's break it down this way. Here is our installation instructions

http://www.photopost.com/installphp.html

Now here is the unix permission scale and what you need to set accordingly.

666 = READ WRITE
777 = READ WRITE EXECUTE

That should be all there is to it. Basically in windows if you want to make it ultra easy set your photopost directory to READ WRITE to get the config template and stylesheet files writable by the program. Then set your data and uploads directories to READ WRITE EXECUTE.

kroozah
January 20th, 2006, 12:27 AM
The install seemed to go much better this time
But there are errors showing up within the pages:
When I go to the user index I get this error at the top of the page:

"Notice: Undefined variable: argv in E:\BrevardSpeed\photogallery\index.php on line 15"

And This:

Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in E:\BrevardSpeed\photogallery\pp-inc.php on line 781


So Close but not there yet....!!!!:(

Chuck S
January 20th, 2006, 06:21 AM
Okay well the first error I would note your PHP installation has error reporting set to high that your reporting empty php variables. Not really something you want to set. Set the error reporting lower not to show empty variables.

Now what version of Photopost are you running cause my line of 781 in pp-inc.php is this which does not jive with the error so let me know what your line reads.

$thiscat = $features['cat'];

kroozah
January 20th, 2006, 11:12 AM
Latest Version just bought and downloaded it this last week 2.5.1
Register and try it out...see what I mean

My line 781 is this:

$thiscat = $features['cat'];

http://www.brevardspeed.com/photogallery

PHP Info
http://www.brevardspeed.com/phpinfo.php

Chuck S
January 20th, 2006, 11:33 AM
Okay well viewing your phpinfo I do see one thing wrong.

display_errors is set to ON which php site will tell you that this should not be set to on unless this is a production environment. It should be set to off on a normal website.

As far as your images there is a definate permissions issue here as your not getting thumbnails created.

What image processor are you using? Try using GD. If you try rebuilding thumbnails what error do you get please post that here.

kroozah
January 21st, 2006, 12:12 AM
Turned off error reporting.... switched to GD2
Re-applied permissions to the apropriate directories.
Re-built thumbnalis with no errors.

Seems to be fine now......

Thanks for your assistance....

BR:cool:

Chuck S
January 21st, 2006, 08:26 AM
Not a problem glad to assist.