PDA

View Full Version : avatars "sticking" in gallery longer than forum?


scrapster
January 8th, 2006, 10:17 PM
when our users change their (custom) avatars in the user cp, their old ones show in the gallery for a long time before changing to the new one. in the (vbulletin) forum the change shows instantly. yes, sometimes a control F5 works, but we get an amazing number of questions about it and would rather not. is there a way to fix this? (do i need to ask at vb? not sure which end controls what avatar is displayed in the gallery!) thank you!

scrapster
January 8th, 2006, 10:20 PM
i found an example. see the avatar by the comment by "tina" in this post.
http://www.digitalscrapbookplace.com/gallery/showphoto.php?photo=69616
and her avatar by her post in the forum.
http://www.digitalscrapbookplace.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1437

of course now that i post it, i see the same one. but she doesn't. i know it's on her end, cache deal or whatever, but is there some setting that will not keep it as long, like the forum?

Chuck S
January 9th, 2006, 09:49 AM
Well maybe vbulletin cache's the query and makes the change later but displays the new one right now.

We query the vbulletin tables when someone views the photo and grab the avatar and display it based on whats retrieved from the vb tables.

Now of course a computer cache's can cause a difference between users as well. We use no-cache headers though


<!-- no cache headers -->
<meta http-equiv="pragma" content="no-cache" />
<meta http-equiv="expires" content="Tue, 21 Nov 2000 05:00:00 GMT" />

<meta http-equiv="cache-control" content="no-cache, must-revalidate" />
<!-- end no cache headers -->


So there should be no caching being done on our end but there are never absolutes.

scrapster
January 10th, 2006, 11:13 AM
here's what vbulletin said. i don't know what it means. :)

vBulletin uses the avatar's dateline in the IMG location to foil browser caching. Maybe Photopost isn't doing this.

Chuck S
January 10th, 2006, 11:51 AM
Yep understand what it means but what is escaping me here is that we add nocache headers to all our pages by default so there should be no caching going on at all. I will have to do some testing on my site by chaning my avatar and see what happens.

scrapster
January 10th, 2006, 01:43 PM
thanks!