PDA

View Full Version : How to upgrade?


titusc
January 7th, 2006, 10:21 PM
Hello,

I already have a copy of PhotoPost running with my vBulletin. How do I upgrade this copy to the latest version? I just downloaded it but the instruction assumes a full and fresh install.

Thanks.

Zachariah
January 8th, 2006, 07:04 AM
Hello,

I already have a copy of PhotoPost running with my vBulletin. How do I upgrade this copy to the latest version? I just downloaded it but the instruction assumes a full and fresh install.

Thanks.

Hello,

What version ?
- PhotoPost ( which of the 4 products)

What did you download ?

:cool:

titusc
January 8th, 2006, 07:25 AM
Hello,

It's PhotoPost PHP 4.0.1 to the latest version. And yeah, what's the difference between the different PhotoPost?
BTW, is it possible to set a specific category to be private (and also hidden) assesible by selected members?

Thanks.

Chuck S
January 8th, 2006, 11:00 AM
In the documentation folder of Photopost there is an upgrade.doc file

Basically to upgrade you should upload all files except config-inc.php and run the upgrade.php script selecting the options from 4.0 forward through 5.1

titusc
January 10th, 2006, 06:24 AM
Hello,

Thanks for the reply. Just a few questions. It says in the upgrade.txt file:
1) Check for new config-inc.php variables, some recent additions are:

$cookie_domain has been added for website cookies. I highly recommend setting this to ".youdomain.com" where
yourdomain is the name of your domain. This will enable cookies to be read across your website regardless
of the URL (i.e. galley.website.com and forums.website.com). If you are using a forum integration you
must have this set in both your forums and photopost.

$vblicense is for VB3 users and is required to encrypt your passwords if you are not using vB3Enhanced
mode. Without it you will not be able to login to VB3.

2) Upload all files - except config-inc.php, unless you modified it from the ZIP file - to
your server. You do not need install.php for an upgrade.

a) I don't see the variable $cookie_domain in the config file. Where is it located?
b) I have put my vblicense number in for $vblicense. But just of curiosity, where can I find out if vBulletin is set to vb3Enchanced or not?
c) There are a lot of settings omitted from this latest config file, compared to the one I have for version 4.0.1. Where do I find the settings for them? For example, the following are no longer in the config file:
i) $ppboards
ii) $closedmsg
iii) $jhead_command
iv) $jpegtran
v) $mysqldumppath
vi) $backupdir
vii) $usegd
viii) $onthefly
ix) $debug
x) $cookie_path
xi) $cookieprefix
xii) $botbuster
xiii) $compression
xiv) $ppdateformat
xv) $gmtoffset
etc, etc, etc.....

Chuck S
January 10th, 2006, 09:30 AM
Okay as stated do not use the new config file. See what happens is all those extra settings in that old config file on upgrade are gonna be transfered to the database.

The only thing you may want to add to your config is $PP_PATH if it is not in there and cookie domain. vb3enhanced is a term we use for our product not vb3. You can turn on enhanced integration with vb3 loading there header footer stylesheet as well as using there wysiwyg posting box for comments etc.

Just upload all files except the config-inc.php ( use the old one ) and run the upgrade script selecting every version from your old version to the last upgrade script only running each step once.

titusc
January 11th, 2006, 12:09 AM
Hello,

Can you please explain the vb3 and the vb3 integration thing? I'm not quite following.

Thanks.