PDA

View Full Version : Watermark Image


Noonster
September 21st, 2005, 01:16 PM
Firstly: Thanks for the answers to my other questions....

This is my last few quetsion question (i think) before i buy it :D

Can the watermark image be a .psd file
Can you set it so only certain categories use the watermark??
What happens if the image uploaded is 640x480 and the watermark is 800x600??

Many Thanks
Daz ;)

ConqSoft
September 21st, 2005, 01:19 PM
The watermark will need to be a GIF/PNG/JPG I believe.

You can set a different, or no watermark at all, for each category.

If the watermark is larger than the original image, no watermark is applied.

Noonster
September 22nd, 2005, 09:07 AM
mmmm well at the min mine is a .psd as it is transparent.
- How can you make a jpg transparent as i have never had luck doing that??

Thanks
Daz

ConqSoft
September 22nd, 2005, 09:17 AM
Only GIF an PNG will be transaparent. I use a transparent PNG myself.

Noonster
September 22nd, 2005, 12:56 PM
So i should just be able to open the .PSD in photoshop and save as .PNG upload the the ftp and use that and all should be fine??

Will give that a try then... many thanks!

Noonster
September 22nd, 2005, 01:13 PM
.PNG doesnt seem to be working...
- not watermarking at all??

Brian
September 22nd, 2005, 01:43 PM
Are you sure you entered the correct path to your watermark image?

Noonster
September 22nd, 2005, 02:07 PM
Are you sure you entered the correct path to your watermark image?
Yeah I entered the full path and not just the url
- /home/???/???/???/???/???/gallery/watermark.png

? = You dont need to know (do you?)

Thats what i entered in the box for that category
- "Watermark Images" "If you would like to add a watermark to uploaded images enter the full path (NOT the URL) to that image here. Otherwise leave this setting blank."

Obviously the box ticked use default isnt ticked as I havnt set a default due to only using it for this category.

I have also told it to be middle center.

Any help or ideas?? What about setting a default one and telling this to use it and all the others not to... instead of just entering this one in that category.

Cheers
Daz

Brian
September 22nd, 2005, 02:16 PM
Are the images you're uploading larger than 800 x 600 (the size of your watermark file)? If you have your limits set to 800, try resizing the watermark to 799 so that it will be slightly smaller than your images.

Noonster
September 22nd, 2005, 02:25 PM
Images are 800x600 also

Will resize watermark now and post in a couple of mins to let you know if it works!

Noonster
September 22nd, 2005, 02:35 PM
Now i have done that it wont even upload an image??
- Your cursor just spins then nothing... I change it back to the other watermark (800x600) and the image uploads and it not watermarked!!

I then went into main options and put the watermark image path in there to see if that effected it and still didnt work...

I have tried both the perminent and non perminent watermark options (on or off)

And you can definatly put a png watermark over a jpg image??
- Really hope ou can help.

Cheers
Darren

ConqSoft
September 22nd, 2005, 02:35 PM
What image processor are you using? GD or IM?

Noonster
September 22nd, 2005, 02:40 PM
Brian...
- Would it be possible to send you the PSD file and see what you can come up with on the test gallery you have??

Maybe its not liking the way I am changing it to a PNG or something??

Thanks
Darren

Noonster
September 22nd, 2005, 02:41 PM
What image processor are you using? GD or IM?
Its set to GD2

Noonster
September 22nd, 2005, 02:44 PM
Should I try ImageMagick??
- However surely is should work with GD2??

What about the me sending you an image idea.

ConqSoft
September 22nd, 2005, 02:46 PM
GD2 should handle PNG watermarks fine. I've used PNG with GD2 and IM.

Noonster
September 22nd, 2005, 02:48 PM
And it should watermark a jpg fine :(

mmmm could you email me your watermark you use and I can see if that works... maybe it just doent like this one :(

ConqSoft
September 22nd, 2005, 02:49 PM
Attached. I place it at the bottom right corner.

Noonster
September 22nd, 2005, 02:53 PM
That worked no problem at at all....

STRANGE!

Can I send you my PSD and you make it a PNG to see if I am doing it wrong??
- Is it because my watermark is soo big and in the center??

Cheers
Darren

ConqSoft
September 22nd, 2005, 02:54 PM
I don't use PhotoShop, so I won't be able to help you.

Noonster
September 22nd, 2005, 02:57 PM
I could always make mine again then I guess :(
- I really think its the size thats at fault but cant be sure.

What did you use?

Brian
September 22nd, 2005, 03:00 PM
- Is it because my watermark is soo big and in the center??
That could be the problem... Try cutting it down to around 500 x 100 and see if that works.

Noonster
September 22nd, 2005, 03:06 PM
That could be the problem... Try cutting it down to around 500 x 100 and see if that works.

No thats still not working...
- It must be in image file - however Im not sure why.

Thinking it be best to create a new one from scratch instead of opening the psd and then saving as png.

Strange but I feel I have no option.

So you dont know how bit the image max should be then?

Thanks to you both for your help.
Daz

ConqSoft
September 22nd, 2005, 03:09 PM
Attach the PSD and let me try to convert it for you.

Noonster
September 22nd, 2005, 03:15 PM
I would but unfortunatly I get the following error
- "watermark.psd:
File Too Large. Limit for this filetype is 195.3 KB. Your file is 253.9 KB."

Brian
September 22nd, 2005, 03:36 PM
Just updated the limits for you. ;)

Noonster
September 22nd, 2005, 03:44 PM
I have created a smaller image...
- below is how it looks.. its not as good as the original but it will do the job

http://corsa-c.co.uk/gallery/files/8/1/DSCF024301.jpg

Thanks for all your help.
Darren

Noonster
September 22nd, 2005, 03:46 PM
Just updated the limits for you. ;)
WOW that was nice of you...
- Will see if I can get the original working then.

Noonster
September 22nd, 2005, 03:48 PM
Its still not liking the watermark...
- Must be something but not sure what.

I will stick with the one above... sorry about all this.

Darren

Brian
September 22nd, 2005, 03:58 PM
I'm not sure if this would have an effect or not since I'm horrible with graphics and don't use Photoshop often, but are you using the 'Save Image for Web' option when saving the larger file? If not, try that and see if it helps.