View Full Version : Watermark Image

September 21st, 2005, 01:16 PM
Firstly: Thanks for the answers to my other questions....

This is my last few quetsion question (i think) before i buy it :D

Can the watermark image be a .psd file
Can you set it so only certain categories use the watermark??
What happens if the image uploaded is 640x480 and the watermark is 800x600??

Many Thanks
Daz ;)

September 21st, 2005, 01:19 PM
The watermark will need to be a GIF/PNG/JPG I believe.

You can set a different, or no watermark at all, for each category.

If the watermark is larger than the original image, no watermark is applied.

September 22nd, 2005, 09:07 AM
mmmm well at the min mine is a .psd as it is transparent.
- How can you make a jpg transparent as i have never had luck doing that??


September 22nd, 2005, 09:17 AM
Only GIF an PNG will be transaparent. I use a transparent PNG myself.

September 22nd, 2005, 12:56 PM
So i should just be able to open the .PSD in photoshop and save as .PNG upload the the ftp and use that and all should be fine??

Will give that a try then... many thanks!

September 22nd, 2005, 01:13 PM
.PNG doesnt seem to be working...
- not watermarking at all??

September 22nd, 2005, 02:07 PM
Are you sure you entered the correct path to your watermark image?
Yeah I entered the full path and not just the url
- /home/???/???/???/???/???/gallery/watermark.png

? = You dont need to know (do you?)

Thats what i entered in the box for that category
- "Watermark Images" "If you would like to add a watermark to uploaded images enter the full path (NOT the URL) to that image here. Otherwise leave this setting blank."

Obviously the box ticked use default isnt ticked as I havnt set a default due to only using it for this category.

I have also told it to be middle center.

Any help or ideas?? What about setting a default one and telling this to use it and all the others not to... instead of just entering this one in that category.


September 22nd, 2005, 02:25 PM
Images are 800x600 also

Will resize watermark now and post in a couple of mins to let you know if it works!

September 22nd, 2005, 02:35 PM
Now i have done that it wont even upload an image??
- Your cursor just spins then nothing... I change it back to the other watermark (800x600) and the image uploads and it not watermarked!!

I then went into main options and put the watermark image path in there to see if that effected it and still didnt work...

I have tried both the perminent and non perminent watermark options (on or off)

And you can definatly put a png watermark over a jpg image??
- Really hope ou can help.


September 22nd, 2005, 02:35 PM
What image processor are you using? GD or IM?

September 22nd, 2005, 02:40 PM
- Would it be possible to send you the PSD file and see what you can come up with on the test gallery you have??

Maybe its not liking the way I am changing it to a PNG or something??


September 22nd, 2005, 02:41 PM
What image processor are you using? GD or IM?
Its set to GD2

September 22nd, 2005, 02:44 PM
Should I try ImageMagick??
- However surely is should work with GD2??

What about the me sending you an image idea.

September 22nd, 2005, 02:46 PM
GD2 should handle PNG watermarks fine. I've used PNG with GD2 and IM.

September 22nd, 2005, 02:48 PM
And it should watermark a jpg fine :(

mmmm could you email me your watermark you use and I can see if that works... maybe it just doent like this one :(

September 22nd, 2005, 02:49 PM
Attached. I place it at the bottom right corner.

September 22nd, 2005, 02:53 PM
That worked no problem at at all....


Can I send you my PSD and you make it a PNG to see if I am doing it wrong??
- Is it because my watermark is soo big and in the center??


September 22nd, 2005, 02:54 PM
I don't use PhotoShop, so I won't be able to help you.

September 22nd, 2005, 02:57 PM
I could always make mine again then I guess :(
- I really think its the size thats at fault but cant be sure.

What did you use?

September 22nd, 2005, 03:06 PM
That could be the problem... Try cutting it down to around 500 x 100 and see if that works.

No thats still not working...
- It must be in image file - however Im not sure why.

Thinking it be best to create a new one from scratch instead of opening the psd and then saving as png.

Strange but I feel I have no option.

So you dont know how bit the image max should be then?

Thanks to you both for your help.

September 22nd, 2005, 03:09 PM
Attach the PSD and let me try to convert it for you.

September 22nd, 2005, 03:15 PM
I would but unfortunatly I get the following error
- "watermark.psd:
File Too Large. Limit for this filetype is 195.3 KB. Your file is 253.9 KB."

September 22nd, 2005, 03:44 PM
I have created a smaller image...
- below is how it looks.. its not as good as the original but it will do the job


Thanks for all your help.

September 22nd, 2005, 03:46 PM
Just updated the limits for you. ;)
WOW that was nice of you...
- Will see if I can get the original working then.

September 22nd, 2005, 03:48 PM
Its still not liking the watermark...
- Must be something but not sure what.

I will stick with the one above... sorry about all this.