PDA

View Full Version : Upgrade process


Hamilogre
July 30th, 2005, 03:33 PM
I'm running vB 3.0.8 and i'm looking at purchasing vBa. What do I do when the next version of vBulletin comes out? Will there be an easy way to upgrade to vB 4.0 and have my gallery function just the way it was? Also what if they release a 3.0.9 patch for vB will that affect my vBa install?

It sounds like a lot of people are using vB 3.5 with vBa. How stable is vB 3.5?

Thanks in advance

Zachery
July 30th, 2005, 05:03 PM
There is no vB4 at this time, as far as we are aware so we cannot comment on it, however vBa Gallery does work for vB3 and vB 3.5 at this time.

vB 3.5 is still considered "Unstable" but I've been running it without issue.

Hamilogre
July 30th, 2005, 05:22 PM
But if I install vBa on my 3.0.8 install, and i decide to upgrade vB to 3.5 is there an easy upgrade tool that will setup the vBa on the 3.5 install?

mholtum
July 30th, 2005, 05:51 PM
aLL you would have to do is download the 3.5 version, upload the php files, and upgrade.. I am assuming.

Hamilogre
July 30th, 2005, 06:17 PM
And would my existing galleries that users have posted still be there after the upgrade?

Zachery
July 30th, 2005, 08:32 PM
Upgrades do not touch data like that ;)

Hamilogre
July 30th, 2005, 10:37 PM
Ok so someone give me a yes or no.

If i have vB 3.0.8 with vbA installed, and I upgrade to vB 3.5 and vBa 3.5, my gallery will still function as it was?

ConqSoft
July 30th, 2005, 10:38 PM
Yes.

Hamilogre
July 31st, 2005, 04:27 AM
Thank you.