PDA

View Full Version : Questions


0ptima
April 10th, 2005, 12:22 AM
I use the legacy postbit on my board, is there an option in the gallery to use that postbit with no hacking?

If a user uploads a large image(1216*752) how is it displayed in the gallery? Is there a scaled down version of it shown (800*600) and an option to view the original?

Can template conditionals be used in the gallery(I use it to dispaly ads to non paying members on my forum)?

What skin does the gallery use? If I purchase a custom skin, what happens to the gallery skin?

Will the gallery recognise custom usergroups(did not see any in the demo)?

When will the final vesion of the gallery be out? If I buy the license, can I sell it at a later date to someone else?

----

I have replied to this post in the gallery, and do not see it
http://www.vbadvanced.com/gallery/showimage.php?i=430&postid=#post

The direct link code http://vbadvanced.com/gallery/files/8/8/2/3/cat.jpg&c=
gives me a 404


testings the BB code
http://vbadvanced.com/gallery/files/8/8/2/3/cat.jpg&c=
http://vbadvanced.com/gallery/files/8/8/2/3/cat.jpg&c=

0ptima
April 10th, 2005, 12:23 AM
The bb code [ img] does not seem to work
http://vbadvanced.com/gallery/files/8/8/2/3/cat.jpg&c=

Zachery
April 10th, 2005, 12:52 AM
http://vbadvanced.com/gallery/files/8/8/2/3/cat.jpg&c= << thats not a picture

http://vbadvanced.com/gallery/files/8/8/2/3/cat.jpg might be.

and http://vbadvanced.com/gallery/files/8/8/2/3/cat.jpg works :)

0ptima
April 10th, 2005, 12:56 AM
So there is a bug in the Direct Link Code?

Im testing the BB code again
http://vbadvanced.com/gallery/files/8/8/2/3/cat.jpg&c=

Lizard King
April 10th, 2005, 01:09 AM
That is already solved . Check this thread (http://www.vbadvanced.com/forum/showthread.php?t=6898)

0ptima
April 10th, 2005, 01:11 AM
BB code does not work for me, cant see your thread.

Lizard King
April 10th, 2005, 01:34 AM
That was a bug and it is solved. Probably the fix is not applied here.

Brian
April 10th, 2005, 11:29 AM
I use the legacy postbit on my board, is there an option in the gallery to use that postbit with no hacking?

Can template conditionals be used in the gallery(I use it to dispaly ads to non paying members on my forum)?

Will the gallery recognise custom usergroups(did not see any in the demo)?
Yes, yes, and yes.

If a user uploads a large image(1216*752) how is it displayed in the gallery? Is there a scaled down version of it shown (800*600) and an option to view the original?
You can sepcify the maximum height/width of images for each type of file extension (jpg, gif, png, etc). You may also specify these on a per-category basis as well. There is an option to save original images in which the resized image will link to the original. If this option is not turned on then it simply resizes the uploaded image to fit within the dimensions specified.

What skin does the gallery use? If I purchase a custom skin, what happens to the gallery skin?
It will use whatever skin the member has selected. Any good custom skin will work with only some modifications to the image paths, which the install file can also update for you at any time after the install.

When will the final vesion of the gallery be out? If I buy the license, can I sell it at a later date to someone else?
RC4 was just released receintly, so it will most likely be a couple of weeks or so before 1.0.0 is released.
No, we do not allow you to transfer your license.


I have replied to this post in the gallery, and do not see it
Posts from unlicensed users here are moderated.

The direct link code http://vbadvanced.com/gallery/files/8/8/2/3/cat.jpg&c=
gives me a 404
As others have said, this was a bug that was reported shortly after the release. There is a fix posted in the bugs forum and I believe the files in the package have already been updated to include the fix.

0ptima
April 10th, 2005, 12:17 PM
Posts from unlicensed users here are moderated.



Brian, thanks for responding to all my questions. Can you approve my comments and pictures that I have uploaded? It would be nice to show a message that the comment needs to be approved first.

Are comments counted towards total post count?

Brian
April 10th, 2005, 12:36 PM
Sure, just approved new comments/images. If you have the redirect pages turned on then it will display a message saying that the post may need to be approved first, the same as it does with vBulletin.
There is an option to have posts made in the gallery incriment a user's post count.

0ptima
April 10th, 2005, 01:36 PM
I have my forum located at forums.domain.com. Will there be any problem installing the gallery at gallery.domain.com? Can I take out the version number of the gallery to prevent hackers from googling for a specific version of the gallery?

ConqSoft
April 10th, 2005, 01:42 PM
I have my forum located at forums.domain.com. Will there be any problem installing the gallery at gallery.domain.com? Can I take out the version number of the gallery to prevent hackers from googling for a specific version of the gallery?

Yes, I do work for a site where I just set up their gallery to work that same way.

Brian
April 10th, 2005, 04:35 PM
As long as you do not have your 'Cookie Domain' set to forums.domain.com then there should be no issues there. You will most likely have problems with users logging in through the gallery if you are running a newer version of vB (3.0.5+ IIRC), but there is a simple fix for that posted.
Yes, you may remove the version number from the copyright notice.

0ptima
April 10th, 2005, 10:21 PM
So how do you buy the product?

The order link(http://www.vbadvanced.com/products.php?do=listallorder&catid=0&productid=5) gave me this
0ptima, you do not have permission to access this page. This could be due to one of several reasons:


Your user account may not have sufficient privileges to access this page. Are you trying to edit someone else's post, access administrative features or some other privileged system?
If you are trying to post, the administrator may have disabled your account, or it may be awaiting activation.

ConqSoft
April 10th, 2005, 10:30 PM
Did you do this?

http://www.vbadvanced.com/forum/showthread.php?t=21

0ptima
April 11th, 2005, 08:46 PM
This should have been made clear on the order page.

0ptima
April 11th, 2005, 09:04 PM
I bought it, but im not to crazy about this part:


After your license has expired, you may continue to use the last version of the software that was available to you, or purchase another license to have access to the latest version.


So renewal is another $60.00?

ConqSoft
April 11th, 2005, 09:05 PM
$19.99/year after the first year.

ConqSoft
April 11th, 2005, 09:06 PM
And that's ONLY if you want to download a newer version. You OWN the copy you have now (and that you download up until your member's area access expires one year from now). So you can continue to run it, and only renew your member's area access ($19.99/year) when you want to download a newer version.

0ptima
April 11th, 2005, 09:40 PM
Thanks, 19.99 is reasonable. I really think some of the points I have mentioned should be clearly stated on the site so newbs like me would not have to ask ;)

ConqSoft
April 11th, 2005, 09:47 PM
When you go to your member's area now, and choose the Renew option, you'll see where it says 19.99.

funkmeister
April 12th, 2005, 12:19 AM
As long as you do not have your 'Cookie Domain' set to forums.domain.com then there should be no issues there. You will most likely have problems with users logging in through the gallery if you are running a newer version of vB (3.0.5+ IIRC), but there is a simple fix for that posted.
Could somone post the link to this fix, I can't seem to find it - many thanks.

Brian
April 12th, 2005, 12:21 AM
Do a search for 'Post requests foreign hosts' and you should find a couple of threads dealing with the issue.

funkmeister
April 12th, 2005, 12:22 AM
Many thanks, just what I was looking for.