PDA

View Full Version : Customizing the Gallery Home Page?


ricker
March 29th, 2005, 03:17 PM
I just found vBa Gallery and I'm really excited to see something like this. I find PhotoPost to just be a nightmare, and an expensive one at that.

My question is this: Are there any limits on how far you can push the design of the Gallery home page? I have it set up now so that most of the page is actually static, using a left column with links to other static albums. Here is the link: http://www.myjeeprocks.com/photopost/index.php

Can something like this be done? Can anyone here lend any advice? TIA so much, I am looking forward to dumping PhotoPost forever! :P

Sarah

ConqSoft
March 29th, 2005, 03:18 PM
It's all in vBulletin templates, so you can modify it to look however you like... Though yours may take some time, since you've customized it quite a bit. :)

ricker
March 29th, 2005, 03:35 PM
Ok, well I can live with that. Thanks for your quick response. I read the description and feature list for this app, but it doesn't say if it integrates with the current forum database or if I'll need to configure a new one?

So, I can install this gallery into a different directory and get it all nice and pretty :) before I run the PhotoPost import script? Just making sure, because like you said, it will probably take some time maybe this weekend.

ConqSoft
March 29th, 2005, 03:38 PM
Yeah, I ran it side-by-side with my PhotoPost installation for quite a while until I was ready to switch over. Photopost was in /photopost and Gallery was in /gallery. Install Gallery and run the import script so that you have data to work with. Then when you're ready to switch, re-do the import so it's all up-to-date.

You can install it into its own DB, or into the vBulletin DB. (I've done it both ways.)

Once you switch, you may be interested in this as well: http://www.vbadvanced.com/forum/showthread.php?t=5931

ricker
March 29th, 2005, 03:58 PM
Wow, that rocks! Thanks for the insight. Another question, is the purchase price a one-time fee, or are there also upgrade fees? Just planning ahead :)

Sarah

ConqSoft
March 29th, 2005, 04:00 PM
It covers you for one year. Then you pay $19.99/year (or close to that) to get updates if you want them. Not required though. In other words, when you buy it, it's an owned license.

Also, when v1.0.0 is released the price is going up a little, I hear.

shadowdancer36
December 8th, 2005, 03:13 PM
ConqSoft I was wondering...Do you do web design on the side?

ConqSoft
December 8th, 2005, 06:17 PM
No, I try not to. ;)