PDA

View Full Version : Im Stupid


imagemaniac
September 15th, 2005, 10:31 AM
I have done something that I feel really stupid about. I am not a techie and would like the help of those of you who are.

My problem is simply this, I wanted to add a javascript countdown timer into my announcement box and accidentally placed it in the title box

Now I cant get rid of it and if i click yes to show the announcement box only my header will show on my site.

what do I need to do to sort it out ????

Heres a pic to show you what my admin looks like

Mathiau
September 15th, 2005, 11:31 AM
do you recall what code you changed and added - just go backwards in the instructions...?

Chuck S
September 15th, 2005, 12:13 PM
You would need to go into photopost mysql settings table with phpmyadmin and clear out the introtitle setting

imagemaniac
September 15th, 2005, 01:38 PM
Hi Chuck
Well that seems a little too complicated for me. I will have to wait until I get you to upgrade my PP and Vb, and ask you to do it then.
Anyways, does anybody know when Vb 3.5 is due to be released?, im holding off my upgrades until then, unless its going to be a long way off.

Mathiau
September 15th, 2005, 02:26 PM
Vb 3.5 is already on Rc3 - it is likely the gold release / final will be out with in a months time, since there are very ew Rc3 bugs reported.

Chuck S
September 15th, 2005, 02:27 PM
Ah so your not use to phpmyadmin?

I can't say when vb35 gold will be out. It is currently in RC3. If there is not alot of bugs then maybe October.

imagemaniac
September 15th, 2005, 02:46 PM
Nope, ive downloaded phpmyadmin , but it will take me some time to get my head around it.
I think i can wait until October for 3.5, then I will get fully upgraded by your good selves.

Mathiau
September 15th, 2005, 07:54 PM
phpmyadmin is actually very simple to set up - a simple configuration file to tell it what server info is, and then launch it via a URL - i had thought the same thing a few years back when i first got into hacking VB / UBB's but once installed - it is very staright forward.


if the mysql data base is local you could also take a look at MySQL CC - it is not suppored any more but it lets you change fields by clicking on them mySQL Query Browser is nice as well as long as you know what queries to run where,

imagemaniac
September 16th, 2005, 01:40 AM
Thanks Mathiau, I will give it a go. B=0

Mathiau
September 16th, 2005, 09:59 AM
can only learn by jumping in! :) worse case you leave it for someone else - best case - you learn to use a very very useful tool :D