PDA

View Full Version : Unable to register


verdicality
September 10th, 2005, 11:36 AM
I just had this software installed yesterday, integrated with phpBB, so maybe that's why I'm having these problems. When I try to create a new account in the photopost menu i first have the option to choose whether i am above or below 13. i choose above, and the very next prompt tells me that my email address is already being used. IT DOESN'T EVEN ASK ME FOR MY EMAIL ADDRESS BEFORE IT SAYS THIS.

what settings do i need to work with?

Chuck S
September 10th, 2005, 04:18 PM
The register button if your integrated with phpbb should go to the phpbb registration screen

verdicality
September 11th, 2005, 04:06 PM
when i try to register here: http://villanofun.com/php/modules.php?name=Forums&file=profile&mode=register

it does not work. it takes me to this page: http://villanofun.com/php/modules.php?name=Forums&file=profile&mode=register&agreed=true&sid=1e513ce741bfe08c9fb5e0bce7febb07

and this is the register page that the site used for registration before this software was installed: http://villanofun.com/php/modules.php?name=Your_Account&op=new_user

and this happens without me trying to select a username first. which doesn't make sense to me.

Chuck S
September 11th, 2005, 06:49 PM
In nuke.php in your forums subdirectory try this


$regtext = " <a href=\"{$Globals['vbulletin']}/modules.php?name=Forums&file=profile&mode=register\">{$Globals['pp_lang']['register']}</a>";



change to this


$regtext = " <a href=\"{$Globals['vbulletin']}/modules.php?name=Your_Account&op=new_user\">{$Globals['pp_lang']['register']}</a>";



then line 251


$links[1] = "{$Globals['vbulletin']}/modules.php?name=Forums&file=profile&mode=register";



change to this



$links[1] = "{$Globals['vbulletin']}/modules.php?name=Your_Account&op=new_user";

verdicality
September 11th, 2005, 07:32 PM
thank you.

my next problem: i can't log out. ever.

i have a couple of logins for my site, and once i am logged into one, i cannot logout without emptying my cache and deleting my cookies. before having this software installed i did not have this problem. this would mean for me that no two users could share the same computer without having to manually delete cookies and emptying cache regularly.

any suggestions? and again, thanks for your previous help.

Chuck S
September 11th, 2005, 08:02 PM
Try this in nuke.php in logout function

setcookie( "{$Globals['cookieprefix']}user", "", time()-3600, $Globals['cookie_path'], $Globals['domain_path'] );

change to this

setcookie( "user", "", time()-3600, $Globals['cookie_path'], $Globals['domain_path'] );

verdicality
September 11th, 2005, 08:14 PM
i think that was a step in the right direction. if i remember correctly, before i made that change, i could not log out on my homepage or on /classifieds. i can now logout on my homepage, but not on the /classified pages.

i'll click on logout, the page will refresh, and i'm still logged in.

Chuck S
September 11th, 2005, 08:16 PM
If you make that change on our nuke file it should negate the user cookie

verdicality
September 11th, 2005, 08:40 PM
i reset my browser and tried again. and i was able to login and logout.

but now, when i login using the /classifieds login, instead of seeing the option to logout in the menubar, i still see the option to login... it won't let me login.

verdicality
September 11th, 2005, 08:56 PM
it seems like logging in at /classifieds and logging in on my homepage are not one and the same. first of all, i can be logged in as one user on the homepage and another user at /classifieds, which seems strange.

additionally, this complicates logging in and out because if i log in from my homepage, i am automatically logged in to /classifieds, which is great. and when i log out from my homepage i am automatically logged out at /classifieds. again, this is great.

however, if i log in from /classifieds and then after logging in i go to my homepage, i am still greeted with 'welcome guest'. it's like logging in from /classifieds is only recognized at /classifieds. another example of this: if i login from my homepage and go to /classifieds, it registers that i am logged in w/ the correct name and everything, but if i logout, it won't let me. i am only able to log out of my account at /classifieds if i logged in at /classifieds.

Chuck S
September 11th, 2005, 09:25 PM
I don't follow here

I created a username on your site and logged in on your homepage

I then went into classifieds and was logged in fine.

I hit the logout button and was logged out fine.

What domains are you running your nuke on? Nuke doesnt have cookie settings that I can tell. Everything is hard coded. Your cookie path is /php/ and as such your cookie path in classifieds is set to /php/. There is no way that I see to set your cookie domain other than blank in nuke.

If I go here

http://villanofun.com/php

and login and then go here

http://villanofun.com/php/classified

I am indeed logged in and if I hit logout I am indeed logged out in all products.

I would suspect your trying to login to your nuke site from

http://www.villanofun.com/php in which case your not going to be logged into classifieds

You can set your forum in nuke and classifieds to use .villanofun.com as the cookie domain so www.villanofun.com and villanofun.com both work but the real problem exists in Nuke. Where can you set the cookie domain to .villanofun.com in NUKE so your user cookie will work on either domain

I hope you follow what I am saying as most products your able to set COOKIE SETTINGS