PDA

View Full Version : Coppermine vs Photopost?

cognaccola
February 7th, 2005, 07:06 AM
Hi,

Because of your legal dept was blabbing about a 2nd install of photopost on our server and a customer of mine needing to have a 2nd photogallery for his local domain, I didn't want to even think of using his first copy so I told him to save the cost (they are non profit organisation) and we would try out a FREE install of Coppermine gallery instead. I've never used this gallery before.

Ok the admin area isn't all that tumbling and turning switches but it has everything a photogallery should have.
Now they've seen what it does, they want me to use it for their international site too and throw off the Photopost license they just bought.

:confused:

For example why does PP not use the same slideshow effect as coppermine which is a smooth fade over of the pictures in slideshow done without click refresh of the whole page itself. If you wanna see yourself click here (http://www.childsupportfund.be/photos/displayimage.php?album=1&pid=37&slideshow=5000)

For me PP is ok, but now when I see this and I'm getting somewhat dissapointed.

Yours faithfully

nexia
February 7th, 2005, 07:15 AM
the title of this thread suggest you want comparaisons, not dissapointment...

btw, there is no comparaisons between the two... clients may need to have commercial support on a gallery, what coppermine does not... and yes, most features may be compared, and photopost is not a mimic of these other galleries, so that's why there is differences...

photopost can't provide the best solution for everyone, that's why there is "others" products...

cognaccola
February 7th, 2005, 07:26 AM