PDA

View Full Version : Zip Code integration, for Canada too...


nexia
February 6th, 2005, 08:03 AM
Hi, i see in an old post at photopostdev.com where you took your zipcode database for the USA, and i see on their site that they made available a database of zip codes from Canada...
http://www.zip-codes-latitude-longitude.com/Products/?Product=DataCanada

i'd be very happy to see this Zip Codes for Canada integrated in the next version of all your softwares, when possible... i know the database cost something, so i'd like to know if you have intentions of making some changes to the db to permit sur change ?!

codes in Canada are like "x1x-1x1" ... not "12345" like in the US!

thanks!
note: the Commercial redistribution license is 500$!

Chuck S
February 6th, 2005, 08:43 AM
Well in our new classifieds Michael actually found and included a FREE US zipcode database. Thats the main reason the US zipcode thing on the hack site was never included in our software as it was a pay zipcode thing.

If you find a free one of canada I dont think it would be an issue to include it in our product but if its a pay thing then most likely something like this will most likely always be a modification posted on the hack site http://www.photopostdev.com

nexia
February 7th, 2005, 08:24 AM
the problem here is that when you suggest to provide some resource, you don't give a hint on what to provide, and on what form... ;)

first, where did you take the zip code database for the USA, so maybe we can find the same for the Canada... and second, there is changes to be made to the system to be able to use these zips from canada, or other places that use alpha && digits...

Chuck S
February 7th, 2005, 10:11 AM
This is a general discussion thread not a how to thread. I merely outlined the fact that if we found a free distribution we could look into incorporating it.

The distance is calculated from what I see using latitude longitude measurements