PDA

View Full Version : Combining Databases


HobbyTalk
December 16th, 2004, 08:52 AM
When I originally setup PhotoPost I had it use a different database then vB. I see there are advantages of having both in the same database. Is there a way to combine both databases into one? Thanks!

Chuck S
December 16th, 2004, 09:02 AM
Yes

Do not delete the old database. Do an export of the Photopost and then import it into the Vb database.

Since you have not deleted the old database yet Photopost still works.

Sign in and go to admin edit config

Change the database settings for photopost database to that as the same as your Vb database settings.

Then go to your Photopost and see that everything is running as it should.

Then simply delete the Photopost database. You should be good to go.

HobbyTalk
December 16th, 2004, 09:14 AM
Thanks for the info! Figured someone here would know the proper steps. ;)

MonchaVX
December 19th, 2004, 07:22 PM
Very good tip but, what about like named tables like "adminlog". Any tips on how to put a prefix on the PP data base before or during the combine?

Chuck S
December 20th, 2004, 10:08 AM
You would place a prefix on all your photopost tables using the rename table mysql command and change the table prefix in your photopost config.

MonchaVX
December 20th, 2004, 11:52 AM
Thank you very much!