PDA

View Full Version : Safe Mode


Michael Blake
September 11th, 2004, 05:56 AM
Hi,
I am considering a purchase of Review Post to assist with my book reviews. I am pretty sure Review Post will do the job but my server has 'PHP Safe Mode' switched on.

Will Safe Mode prevent me using this product? I know the requirements are for safe mode to switched off but even with it swtiched on I am happily using vBulletin for forums and Mambo to drive a couple of other sites. Hence I am thinking that safe mode is not such a necessary requirement. Please advise before I buy.

Thanks,
Mickey

Michael P
September 13th, 2004, 09:18 AM
Safe Mode can be used if your server is properly configured - the difficulity is that by default Safe Mode does not like people uploading files to the server. You can specify exemptions to the rules, which is what you need to do. In the case of ReviewPost, you can also disable file uploads entirely.

Michael Blake
September 20th, 2004, 06:26 AM
Cheers Michael,
I use vBulletin and that seems to work fine with safe mode, I'll give Review Post a go shortly.

Mickey