PDA

View Full Version : GD To Process Images, ImageMagick to Watermark


Steve_C
March 25th, 2004, 10:54 AM
Can I have PP use GD to process my images and ImageMagick to watermark? If so, how?

Chuck S
March 25th, 2004, 11:39 AM
Well you can use ImageMagick to process the images and GD to do on the fly watermarks if you do not want the images to have a watermark permantly done

One drawback is to make sure you do not allow gif uploads.

If you want permenant watermarks your stuck with using one processor for both.

The reason you can get away with using ImageMagick to process images and GD to do on the fly watermarks is that the watermark.php is an external call that handles the overlay and reqwuires GD. But you can not have it the way around.

Steve_C
March 25th, 2004, 11:45 AM
Well, the problem I am having are 30k thumbnails....

Chuck S
March 25th, 2004, 11:47 AM
well why not use one processor as you can see you can only have things set the way I stated above.

The way you go depends on the type of watermark you want.

What is your preferred processor?

Chuck S
March 25th, 2004, 11:52 AM
I would look at your compiled processor and do some thinking

I use ImageMagick which I compiled myself

I upload a 2048x1560 image which is 700KB

When I upload that I get three files

a 2.89kb thumb
a 44.7kb medium
a 107.3kb large file

Steve_C
March 25th, 2004, 11:54 AM
I prefer IM. I don't know other than set the path so I am not sure what to look for. It doesn't do it all the time, like 1 out of every 3, using the same camera/settings.

Chuck S
March 25th, 2004, 12:01 PM
That is why I posted the above post. That is an uncompressed 700kb image from my Nikon 995 Coolpix and ImageMagick successfully compressed it and created much much smaller images.

If you want GD to do on the fly watermarks you can do as I stated and use IM to process the images and allow GD to do the overlay but your original post had things the other way around.

Steve_C
March 25th, 2004, 12:06 PM
I'll do whatever method as long as it gets the thumbnail size down. ;)

THanks.

Steve_C
March 25th, 2004, 12:07 PM
Another question... I have this:

// on-the-fly watermarks
// requires GD2 and you must edit the file watermark.php
$onthefly=0;

but it still watermarks...

Chuck S
March 25th, 2004, 12:13 PM
Steve that is because you are using permanent watermarks which is set in your options settings.

nbenton
July 2nd, 2004, 07:53 AM
I am trying to implement the configuration suggested above: GD does the on-the-fly watermarks and IM does the rest. In options I disabled watermarks. In config I set IM as the thumbnail generator and set "yes" to on-the-fly watermarks.

Then I tried to rotate an image and got this message.

Error rotating image!!
Error code: 9
/homepages/7/d102497889/htdocs/imagemagic/bin/mogrify -rotate 90 /homepages/7/d102497889/htdocs/photopost/data/513/2DSCF0022.JPG

Any suggestions?