So, because of the irresponsible coding of the last site tech - he connected the forum to the gallery in such a way that it can't be undone. I had changed to a new gallery, but he left the old one out there like a shadow or something.
Random customers now have no access to their previous albums. He was able to restore it to a point that the user names are right, but they can't access the albums. They can upload a new image and it creates a brand new album for them under the same user name.
I am told that there is no way to restore the gallery without losing my current forum. I either keep one or the other. I want to know if there is a way to access their numeric user ids on the back end, copy their images into their new numeric ids so that they can get access to their history.