You can stop users from deleting photos in categories sure by not letting them move delete photos under admin. However users are still allowed to manage their personal albums anyway they choose. Thus if they delete there personal album any photos under that are deleted. This would be the desired action since personal albums are totally under a users control. If you do not want them to create albums which are outside your control then under admin edit usergroups set allow albums to no.