I recently found out, the hard way, that if you check "Apply these settings and permissions to all children", it wipes out your extra fields of any of the children categories you may have even though the parent has none.
Is there a way to seperate the "settings" and "permissions" because I sometimes change the permissions, but not the settings, of a category, and would like those permissions set for the children of that category as well instead of having to go in and modify each category individually. And, now having the ability to add different extra fields to each category, being forced to apply the master category "settings" to all of them would be more of a hinderance than anything. Or, perhaps if a category has no products, then don't allow extra fields to be added, and maybe only have permissions in there.
Additionally, since this has wiped the fields out, has the data been lost as well, or is that still sitting in the database somewhere? (Please say it's still in the database...)